PDA

View Full Version : Sharing internet connector with a router

xineohp
13-10-2004, 02:49 PM
How do I share my broadband connection using my router between two machines.

lagbort
13-10-2004, 02:57 PM
plug the router into the switch, and the 2 computers into the switch, voila internet

xineohp
13-10-2004, 03:02 PM
Sorry to be a pain but I'm new to this sort of thing, what is a switch and where would I find it. Is a switch another name for a hub?

Pete O\'Neil
13-10-2004, 03:06 PM
Perhaps you should provide the model number and brand of your router and any other networking equipment.

Billy T
13-10-2004, 03:12 PM
In simple terms, Network Hub = Network Switch only slower.

You can buy Network Switches just about anywhere including DSE.

It is not quite a "plug in and Voila exercise", the switch requires no configuration but your computers will need to be set to recognise the Router IP as the internet gateway (usually 192.168.7.1) and the subnet mask to 255.255.255.0

Check out the FAQs, you will find it all there.

Post again if confusion sets in.

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

xineohp
13-10-2004, 03:17 PM
I have a Windows XP machine with onboard Network adapter, I have a Windows 98 machine no network card. No cables crossover, cat5 no hub the router is DSE BROADBAND ROUTER(I think I might understand now the ports on the back are the switches, is that right, if so which cables do I buy to connect the machines to the switch, I will also need to buy a network card for the Win98 machine I presume).

tommy
13-10-2004, 03:28 PM
Read through the forum's Networking FAQ (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/thread.jsp?forum=1&thread=52146&message=323350) for detailed information on how to setup a network then ask for advice on the parts you do not understand.

Murray P
13-10-2004, 03:39 PM