PDA

View Full Version : How long before MS includes SP2 in the XP package?



Billy T
13-10-2004, 09:48 AM
I'm thinking of moving from W2000 Pro to XP Pro sometime next year when I build a new comp and I assume by that time MS will have integrated SP2 into the retail package so that it becomes just another OS instal.

Am I living a lie, or is there hope?

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

CYaBro
13-10-2004, 09:52 AM
The OEM versions that I buy have just started coming with SP2 integrated as of this week. Don't know about the retail packages though. Most likely will take quite a bit longer.

stu120404
13-10-2004, 10:41 AM
> I'm thinking of moving from W2000 Pro to XP Pro
> sometime next year when I build a new comp and I
> assume by that time MS will have integrated SP2 into
> the retail package so that it becomes just another OS
> instal.

I would think so.

robsonde
13-10-2004, 02:26 PM
at the launch of SP2 that i went to MS said that they wanted SP2 in ALL copies of windows by the end of the year.

Billy T
13-10-2004, 03:03 PM
Thanks Guys

I'll wait until new year.

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

alphazulusixeightniner
13-10-2004, 03:45 PM
Heh, just do it yourself. 10min job.

45South
13-10-2004, 06:01 PM
A bit of the thread topic, but...
Freind of mine just bought a copy of XP Pro SP2 from a Canadian website, really cheap!!
CD was a printable princo with nice colours, Serial was nicely printed on to CD
Looked real flash & she was totally rapt till she tried to use it to upgrade XP home to XP Pro SP2 & it failed halfway thru installation & trashed the system.
That was when she rang me to have a look & I took the wind out of her sails in 2 secs when I told her it was an illegal copy
Not so cheap now!
Hmmm, some people are just so dumb

Meg_h_nz
13-10-2004, 09:50 PM
Hi, Had my new PC for a week and the XP OEM included SP2.

Have a great day
Meg

metla
13-10-2004, 09:55 PM
> Hi, Had my new PC for a week and the XP OEM included
> SP2.
>
> Have a great day
> Meg


The Simunator????

Meg_h_nz
14-10-2004, 12:23 AM
?:| ?:| ?:|

metla
14-10-2004, 08:32 AM
Weren't you originally in the market for a new comp in order to play Sims2?

Hence-The Simunator..

Ah forget it,just a poor joke.

Meg_h_nz
14-10-2004, 10:17 AM
LOL
Sorry you are right, I was a bit slow on the up take :-(
I didn't realise I had mentioned wanting to play the Sims2 on PF1.
Wished I had thought of "Simunator" for the pc name.

Have a great day
Meg

flying_green_leprachaun
14-10-2004, 04:18 PM
You can rename the PC after install hit [WIN]+[pause / break]

or right click on "my computer" & select properties (both the same thing)

Meg_h_nz
14-10-2004, 04:50 PM
thanks for the info leprachaun.
I have decided to stick with "Megan's Dream" for the for seeable future
(mind you in the first few days it was more like Megan's Nightmare!)
Have a great day

Meg

CYaBro
21-10-2004, 11:27 AM
They are now coming with SP2.

Here (http://sal.neoburn.net/imagef1/files/WinXPSP2.jpg) is a photo of one I just got for a customer. Pretty easy to see if the one you are buying comes with SP2.

Billy T
22-10-2004, 10:39 AM
Broken link?

Can you check this out CYaBro?

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

CYaBro
22-10-2004, 10:45 AM
Link works fine for me.

Try goto http://www.sal.neoburn.net/imagef1/ and select 'View Uploaded" and look for the one called WinXPSP2.jpg.

stu120404
22-10-2004, 11:07 AM
> Link works fine for me.

Same for me

twelvevolts
24-10-2004, 03:54 PM
You can make your own disk as stated.

www.theeldergeek.com/slipstreamed_xpsp2_cd.htm

if you don't know how to do it.