View Full Version : Js. Trojan. WindowBomb on PCWorld disk?

29-09-2004, 10:49 PM
Norton detected and deleted this "trojan" when I installed 1st. page HTML editor from the October disk. Is it a genuine threat or a data sucker? Or perhaps some other undesirable?

29-09-2004, 11:07 PM
Info here (http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/js.trojan.windowbomb.html)

29-09-2004, 11:22 PM
Cheers johnboy, this is not what I subscribed for. Disclaimers or no.

30-09-2004, 12:04 AM
> Cheers johnboy, this is not what I subscribed for.
> Disclaimers or no.

Easy now - Johnboy. I scanned the prog on the CD with a current Nortons. Clean .....

Dig deeper your end.
Cheers T

30-09-2004, 12:06 AM
Sorry - meant to say Easy now Brewer....

Jen C
30-09-2004, 12:12 AM
I am pretty sure it was 1st Page that has a false trojan alert in it. It has been mentioned before and IIRC, it is to do with a hoax/joke code section in the HTML editor that you can use for fun. Unfortunately AV programs picks this up as a trojan. It can be removed without affecting the use of the program.

Can't remember more details, but a google about it will help.

It is good that you scan all CD's before running no matter where they are from. :)

Jen C
30-09-2004, 12:16 AM
Found the information about it:

See section at end (http://download.yohost.com/1stpage.htm)

Alert: "Six Buttons From Hell"

The 1st Page software includes various JavaScript examples, including a "practical joke" called Six Buttons From Hell. Some virus scanning software will identify this script as the js/winbomb trojan. YoHost recommends deleting this file after you install 1st Page (or skipping the file during installation). Deleting this file will not affect the operation of the program. More information is here.
The file is typically installed as: C:\Program Files\Evrsoft\1st Page 2000\IScripts\Buttons\Six buttons from hell.izs
YoHost believes the 1st Page developers made a bad choice by including the "Six Button" example, but we have no connection with the developers.

30-09-2004, 08:15 AM
Wonder what happened to PC World's virus scanners?
Bit slack
If it was known about but was treated as a hoax/joke script, a cover note on the mag or CD would have been appropriate
Bit slack
Just as well it's a good mag or I might have got upset & not bought it again
(not really, it's too good a mag not to buy)

30-09-2004, 09:51 AM
The disks were scanned. By multiple scanners. But it isn't picked up unless installed. Sorry it's caused problems but I had no knowledge of the problem when I put it on the disk. The program was recommended in an article in the mag (from the previous issue) and no mention was made of this partuicular issue.

30-09-2004, 09:51 AM
Thanks Jen C.

30-09-2004, 11:36 AM
Stickied a thread explaining this:

Virus in 1st Page on PCW CD - False positive (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/thread.jsp?forum=1&thread=51953)