PDA

View Full Version : Failed to update system registry



oldfart
29-09-2004, 02:29 PM
Hi Guys

I have XP Home with service pack2. I have several users on my computer and have found that If you are logged on as an ordinary user several apps cannot use the registry.

For example I have a HP ScanJet 5200c that works fine if you log on as administrator but ordinary users get the message: "Failed to update the system registry. Please try using REGEDIT".

I have several other apps that are obviously not able to write to the registry, when logged on as an ordinary user, because they fail to remember settings between sessions.

My problem is that I don't know what needs editing in the registry. Can anyone shed some light please.

Oldfart

johnboy
29-09-2004, 08:08 PM
This is a common problem with limited accounts and as one of the links below shows people have been finding work arounds for there particular programs.
Some times when you install a program it asks "Make available to all users of this computer" Did the scanner ??
here (http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&ie=UTF8&oe=UTF8&safe=active&q=Failed%20to%20update%20the%20system%20registry.% 20Please%20try%20using%20REGEDIT)
Do you use run as when you log on to your limited accounts?.
HOW TO: Use the RUN AS Command to Start a Program as an Administrator in Windows XP
here (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;305780)
How To Enable and Use the "Run As" Command When Running Programs in Windows
here (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=http://support.microsoft.com:80/support/kb/articles/q294/6/76.asp&NoWebContent=1)
Hope fully some one might have another solution .
hth

oldfart
30-09-2004, 12:58 PM
Thanks Johnboy

No the scanner does not give the option "Make available to all users of this computer" it is pre XP. Unfortunately the run as option does not work either. I was able to use "run as" successfully with Nero though so all is not lost.

The first link you suggested I had already delved into and was unable to rework their solution to work with scanjet.

But I have certainly learned something, thank you.

Oldfart

johnboy
30-09-2004, 01:15 PM
Another thing you could try is putting the shortcut to the scanner into the
C:\Documents and Settings\All Users folder and see if the scanner works then. this here (http://www.vlaurie.com/computers2/Articles/xprunas.htm) is another link to try .
hth

oldfart
30-09-2004, 02:12 PM
Yes I've already tried the All Users folder but no joy their. The info in your link is interesting especially the ACLs. Will try it as soon as I have a bit of time.

Thanks again Oldfart