PDA

View Full Version : ICS Question



Codex
28-09-2004, 12:41 PM
I have two computers, one with Windows 2000 Pro(PC1), and one with Windows XP Pro(PC2). PC1 has an internet connection in which is being shared(ICS) because PC2 doesn't have a modem. The computers are a fair way away from each other(they are networked).
Is there anyway for PC2 to like get PC1 to connect to the internet wthout me having to go back and forth between the machines?? Any utilities?? Any ideas??

Spacemannz
28-09-2004, 12:47 PM
Yup in PC1's dialup, go to properties/advanced. Tick the ICS, and the 2 options under it .

Then make a dialup icon for PC2. Or when PC2 tries to get on the net. If PC1's modem isnt on the net, PC2 should dial PC2's modem....

PC2 doesnt need a modem installed to get on the net if u use ICS.

Spacemannz
28-09-2004, 12:49 PM
If PC1's modem isnt on the net, PC2 should dial PC2's modem....

That should be PC2 should dial PC1's modem!

Codex
28-09-2004, 12:54 PM
The problem with that is that PC1 hasn't got connect automatically enabled for security reasons. So...Any more options/ideas??

tweak\'e
28-09-2004, 12:57 PM
try RDU (http://www.twiga.ltd.uk/rdu.asp) (remote disconnection utillity)

Codex
28-09-2004, 01:13 PM
Thanks tweak'e hopefully this is all good

Codex
28-09-2004, 01:31 PM
o and how do you find out what server port you are using?? :D

00falcon
28-09-2004, 03:08 PM
keep it as default....

1000

or just use the same thru out...

Codex
28-09-2004, 10:10 PM
Thanks RDU is legend thanks again