PDA

View Full Version : FTP via XP



Greg S
27-09-2004, 08:29 PM
Is it possible to ftp via command prompt in XP pro?

Thx

stu120404
27-09-2004, 08:36 PM
> Is it possible to ftp via command prompt in XP pro?

Yep, I think so

Go to start > Run > ftp.exe

Hope this helps :)

stu120404
27-09-2004, 08:38 PM
PS: can some one tell me what commands ftp.exe does? e.g. how to upload a file/download a file etc...

Spacemannz
27-09-2004, 08:49 PM
type ? for help. After u type ftp in start/run.

It'll show u a list of commands. And ? command to see what it does

How to figure out how to get anywhere is another matter!

Greg S
27-09-2004, 08:52 PM
Open Help and Support and find ftp, all the commands are listed there with explanations

Or go to
http://www.cs.colostate.edu/helpdocs/ftp.html

Greg S
27-09-2004, 08:54 PM
> Yep, I think so
>
> Go to start > Run > ftp.exe
>
> Hope this helps :)

Thanks yes, although it's not quite the same. However it does answer my question - ftp.exe works fine, but trying it in command prompt doesn't.

Cheers

Terry Porritt
27-09-2004, 10:16 PM
Ftp should work from the cmd.exe command line, it does with my XP, and also from the dos window command line in win 98.

There used to be, and still exists an excellent FTP FAQ maintained by Perry Rovers.
My copy is 1994, but checking on the Garbo site I see it is now 1997.

ftp://garbo.uwasa.fi/pc/doc-net/ftp-list.zip

The files in the zip are text files so open them with Notepad etc. One file is the FAQ, the other is a list of ftp sites.

Either I am rusty or the syntax seems to have changed a bit, the 'open' command followed by the site name seems to be needed to get to a site, whereas I seem to remember the command was ftp, eg
ftp> ftp ftp.simel.net doesnt work, but

ftp> open ftp.simtel.net does.

Then dont forget to logon to the site you have to type anonymous

When it asks for a password just press enter, usually fairly quickly, if too long answering you may be rejected.

Greg S
27-09-2004, 10:28 PM
>I seem
> to remember the command was ftp, eg
> ftp> ftp ftp.simel.net doesnt work, but
>
> ftp> open ftp.simtel.net does.

Yeah that's where I was going wrong using cmd.exe, trying the former.

Terry Porritt
27-09-2004, 11:04 PM
Yes, you open the command line using cmd.exe, then at the c: prompt type ftp to open the ftp program, and you get the ftp> prompt appearing.

From then on all the commands are Unix commands.

Thats all we had to work with before windows :)

whiskeytangofoxtrot
27-09-2004, 11:32 PM
> ftp> ftp ftp.simel.net doesnt work, but
>
> ftp> open ftp.simtel.net does.

just type

ftp ftp.yourhost.xx.xx

You don't need to press enter after typing ftp the first time, just feed it the hostname straightaway. Much more efficient.

C:\>ftp ftp.domainz.net.nz
Connected to ftp.domainz.net.nz.
220 web1.domainz.net.nz FTP server ready
User (ftp.domainz.net.nz:(none)): blah
331 Password required for blah.
Password:
530 Login incorrect.
Login failed.
ftp>bye
221 Goodbye.

C:\>

Chilling_Silence
27-09-2004, 11:34 PM
Try:
-Start
-->Run
-->cmd
-->ftp hostname.com
[enter username/pw]
--> cd folder/name/remotely
--> send "C:\Documents and Settings\Username\Desktop\Filename.exe"
--> get remote_filename.txt
-->bye


That's how you'd send and receive (get) a file from the command line


Chill.

whiskeytangofoxtrot
27-09-2004, 11:35 PM
> Open Help and Support and find ftp, all the commands
> are listed there with explanations
>
> Or go to
> http://www.cs.colostate.edu/helpdocs/ftp.html

It's kinda weird that you told him to go read the help for FTP commands, yet you posted a thread to ask if you could ftp from the commandline rather than just trying it to see if it works (or searching the help yourself)!?

Greg S
27-09-2004, 11:48 PM
> It's kinda weird that you told him to go read the
> help for FTP commands, yet you posted a thread to ask
> if you could ftp from the commandline rather than
> just trying it to see if it works (or searching the
> help yourself)!?

Good point - I was kinda wondering that myself