PDA

View Full Version : debian iso help



beama
24-09-2004, 02:59 PM
How do I find out before using Debian iso's what version kernel is enbeded (I didn't download these iso's found them on a network share)
will isobuster help if so where do I look in the iso structure for the kernel identifier which I believe is in the format of 2.2.13 etc.

Thank you in advance

Spacemannz
24-09-2004, 03:47 PM
Winiso SHOULD let u look into an iso. http://www.winiso.com

It isnt free tho. It also lets u add files to an iso before u burn the iso to cd.

Chilling_Silence
24-09-2004, 04:04 PM
If you're in Windows, grab Daemon-Tools and it'll let you "Mount" the CD-Rom as though it were in its own drive.

Otherwise if you're in Linux, type:
mount -t iso9660 -o loop /mnt/networkshare/debianISO.iso /mnt/cdrom


Chill.

beama
24-09-2004, 08:39 PM
thank you so far
but I need to know the kernel version. I can veiw the contents of the iso with isobuster is there a file within the iso image that will identify the kernel version

have done a apt-cdrom -a -d /media/cdrom

beama
24-09-2004, 09:20 PM
Chill
one question to do what you suggested, would you need samba

Chilling_Silence
25-09-2004, 03:23 AM
beama:
Nope - Its part of the Kernel itself (Loopback file-systems) :-)

Just give it a shot

You may be better off with:
mkdir /mnt/loopback
mount -t iso9660 -o loop /home/username/debian_ISO.iso /mnt/loopback

This way its not sharing your CD-Rom's mountpoint.


Chill.

beama
25-09-2004, 12:07 PM
Thanks Chill
Ill give it shot, Let you know Monday, dont feel like going into work today ;)
Thanks for the heads up on Daemon tools too been looking for somthing like that for a while now

beama
27-09-2004, 11:54 PM
update

kernel is 2.2.20
tried your method chill, my inexperance with linux was glaring
so I cheated, mounted the iso #1 in vmware as a cdrom and powered up the virtual pc and it went into the installer which indicated I was about to install kernel 2.2.20 (should have thought of that earlier)

thanks for the help

Chill I haven't given up on your method yet still trying

Chilling_Silence
28-09-2004, 12:40 AM
If its failing, what error are you getting?