PDA

View Full Version : NAV 2004



bk T
23-09-2004, 03:16 PM
Installed NAV 2004 on a computer. When logging on Administrator account, it's fine; but when logging on other user accounts (without administrative privilege, the following error message pops up:

"Norton Antivirus Professional configuration is not complete. You must have administrative privilege to complete the configuration using the Information Wizard."

Haven't got any clue what is this about. Can anyone enlighten me?

Cheers

CYaBro
23-09-2004, 03:51 PM
You might have to log in as the administrator account and make all the other user accounts administrators then log in as each user so NAV can do it's thing.
Once you've done that log back in as the asministrator and change the other user accounts back to what they were.

johnboy
23-09-2004, 04:24 PM
Look at these pages
here (http://service1.symantec.com/support/nsw.nsf/c851d9242b6f1c4d88256d8000469d43/12bb8d848539e49c88256ddc0075f4e7?OpenDocument&src=bar_sch_nam)
here (http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/nav.nsf/5e19e84a28547fe188256d4e006aaa95/b2ad820364b3ebab88256e620064ddfb?OpenDocument&src=bar_sch_nam)
here (http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/nip.nsf/16c1d01d537bf4d188256d8e0076b346/f76f93637b9aaeb188256e6200658c94?OpenDocument&src=bar_sch_nam)
hth

bk T
23-09-2004, 06:13 PM
> Look at these pages
> here (http://service1.symantec.com/support/nsw.nsf/c851
> 9242b6f1c4d88256d8000469d43/12bb8d848539e49c88256ddc00
> 5f4e7?OpenDocument&src=bar_sch_nam)
> here (http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/nav.nsf/5e19
> 84a28547fe188256d4e006aaa95/b2ad820364b3ebab88256e6200
> 4ddfb?OpenDocument&src=bar_sch_nam)
> here (http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/nip.nsf/16c1
> 01d537bf4d188256d8e0076b346/f76f93637b9aaeb188256e6200
> 58c94?OpenDocument&src=bar_sch_nam)
> hth

johnboy, all the links above couldn't be loaded.

bk T
23-09-2004, 06:21 PM
CYaBro, have done all that and deleted the registry keys as suggested by Symantec, but after changing back all those user account privileges, everything returns and the error message pops up again. Checks the registry key and found that it has been re-created!

Don't tell me it's XP SP2's problem again.

Any other ideas?

johnboy
23-09-2004, 07:02 PM
Here is the search (http://search.symantec.com/custom/us/query.html) for symantec just put "Norton Antivirus Professional configuration is not complete. You must have administrative privilege to complete the configuration using the Information Wizard" in the search pane and you will come up with a few articles on your problem.
It seems a bit slow loading now for some reason .
hth

bk T
24-09-2004, 10:43 AM
Followed all those steps suggested by Symantec but NO GOOD.

Finally, uninstalled and re-installed NAV then applied all the steps from Symantec to correct the 'configuration' problem. Everything is working fine now.

Thanks for all the contributions.

Odin
24-09-2004, 10:59 AM
Is this going to have to be done everytime there is a program update as well, one that usually requires a restart? No I am not talking about virus def updates I mean the actual updates that affect the program and registry entries.

bk T
24-09-2004, 12:46 PM
> Is this going to have to be done everytime there is a
> program update as well, one that usually requires a
> restart? No I am not talking about virus def updates
> I mean the actual updates that affect the program and
> registry entries.

Is this a Microsoft problem or Symantec problem? Looks to me is Symantec's issue.