PDA

View Full Version : Dual CPU good for gaming?

Rpg_pro
21-09-2004, 11:46 PM
I just got a dual P3 1ghz so 2ghz total, is it any better for gaming than a single p3 cpu? im using winxp
thanks

Murray P
21-09-2004, 11:55 PM
I wouldn't think there was too much difference between dual and single CPU's at equivalent overall CPU speed, I'm no expert but I don't thing the ability to multi task is a strong requirement for a game. Ram and GPU (graphics card) are more important for gaming, so the board those P3's are running won't be able to be fitted with the best ram and vid card for running modern games (that's if you want to run the modern games).

Cheers Murray P

metla
22-09-2004, 12:16 AM
Nope.

Excellent for gaming and maybe encoding video at the same time,that is if your os and applications can make use of the resources,which is highly doubtful.

You would see a benifit on programs designed to utilise 2 cpu's,a highend video suite for example....

Rpg_pro
22-09-2004, 07:31 AM
ATM i have a 1ghz, 380 odd mb ram and a 256 gfx card... with a dual p3 1ghz with the same ram and gfx would i see any difference?

Rpg_pro
22-09-2004, 07:41 AM
Also i always do alot of cd burning.... and i seem to "lag" when im buring a disk and doing something else at the same time, with this help over come this "lag"?

Pete O\'Neil
22-09-2004, 09:51 AM
> I just got a dual P3 1ghz so 2ghz total, is it any
> better for gaming than a single p3 cpu? im using
> winxp
> thanks
Dual 1GHz are nothing like a single 2GHz chip. You'll notice that windows is more responsive when multitasking, and may also notice a very small preformance increases in games but nothing significant. In order for a game or peice of software to make use of dual CPU's it actually needs to have support for dual CPU's. The only game that supports dual CPU's is Quake3, alot of professional image editing software etc supports dual CPU's.