PDA

View Full Version : Get Bandwidth Back



00falcon
20-09-2004, 03:14 PM
Windows uses 20% of your bandwidth! Get it back

A nice little tweak for XP. M*crosoft reserve 20% of your available bandwidth for their own purposes (suspect for updates and interrogating your machine etc..)

Here's how to get it back:

Click Start-->Run-->type "gpedit.msc" without the "

This opens the group policy editor. Then go to:

Local Computer Policy-->Computer Configuration-->Administrative Templates-->Network-->QOS Packet Scheduler-->Limit Reservable Bandwidth

Double click on Limit Reservable bandwidth. It will say it is not configured, but the truth is under the 'Explain' tab :

"By default, the Packet Scheduler limits the system to 20 percent of the bandwidth of a connection, but you can use this setting to override the default."

So the trick is to ENABLE reservable bandwidth, then set it to ZERO. This will allow the system to reserve nothing, rather than the default 20%.
works on XP Pro, and 2000
other o/s not tested.

-------------Copied from Internet------------------

Chilling_Silence
20-09-2004, 04:17 PM
This is well known - You're better off just getting rid of QoS altogether IMO!

Click Start
Settings
Control Panel
Network Connections
Right-click on your Dial-Up or LAN connection and choose Properties
Select QoS Packet Scheduler and click Remove


Chill.

Greg S
20-09-2004, 07:48 PM
> This is well known - You're better off just getting
> rid of QoS altogether IMO!

Is that easily reversable?

Patrick 2003
20-09-2004, 07:57 PM
> Windows uses 20% of your bandwidth! Get it back
>
> A nice little tweak for XP. M*crosoft reserve 20% of
> your available bandwidth for their own purposes
> (suspect for updates and interrogating your machine
> etc..)
>
> Here's how to get it back:
>
> Click Start-->Run-->type "gpedit.msc" without the "
>
> This opens the group policy editor. Then go to:
>
> Local Computer Policy-->Computer
> Configuration-->Administrative
> Templates-->Network-->QOS Packet Scheduler-->Limit
> Reservable Bandwidth
>
> Double click on Limit Reservable bandwidth. It will
> say it is not configured, but the truth is under the
> 'Explain' tab :
>
> "By default, the Packet Scheduler limits the system
> to 20 percent of the bandwidth of a connection, but
> you can use this setting to override the default."
>
> So the trick is to ENABLE reservable bandwidth, then
> set it to ZERO. This will allow the system to reserve
> nothing, rather than the default 20%.
> works on XP Pro, and 2000
> other o/s not tested.
>
> -------------Copied from Internet------------------


before i try this, has any one tried this and does it actually work for dial up?

Chilling_Silence
20-09-2004, 08:12 PM
Yes its easy to reverse, and yes, Ive done it on _all_ PC's Ive worked on for the past 2 years!

Greg S
20-09-2004, 08:31 PM
> before i try this, has any one tried this and does it
> actually work for dial up?

Yeah just did it though I can't tell any difference. On adsl so can't comment about dialup

Chilling_Silence
20-09-2004, 08:46 PM
It basically means now that it wont reserve XYZ amount for Windows Updates and Microsofts hidden stuff _IF_ it needs to be transferred.

BootyLicious
20-09-2004, 08:52 PM
will is stuff my network up, or will my network be ok.

Spacemannz
20-09-2004, 09:07 PM
It'll still work with a network Booty. Ive turned QOS off and the network is fine.

MACIAN
24-09-2005, 09:11 AM
can you do this on win98?

Renmoo
24-09-2005, 09:39 AM
can you do this on win98?
Try downloading FreshUI from Fresh Device (http://www.freshdevices.com) and tweak the QoS settings using that software.

Cheers :)

Big John
24-09-2005, 01:43 PM
Windows uses 20% of your bandwidth! Get it back

A nice little tweak for XP. M*crosoft reserve 20% of your available bandwidth for their own purposes (suspect for updates and interrogating your machine etc..)

Here's how to get it back:

Click Start-->Run-->type "gpedit.msc" without the "
.
.
.


Easier way is just go to network connections, select the properties and in there you will find the QOS service. Simply remove it entirely and it will be removed from all connections.
Does not stuff up you connection in any way. Does speed up Dialup and if you have been throttled back on broadband (relative to what you are doing. VoIP is suppose to use it so that it has enough room to get through without getting choppy).
You can always add it back later if you want it back.

stu161204
24-09-2005, 03:00 PM
did any one have a look at the date of this thread? ;)

Renmoo
24-09-2005, 03:10 PM
did any one have a look at the date of this thread? ;)
Old is gold... :cool:

Cheers :)

Graham L
24-09-2005, 03:51 PM
Stu: It's not a problem. It's a very good thing when someone uses the search utility to find any previous threads about a problem, then adds their own question to the most relevant thread. That brings up what was previously said, and has produced sensible suggestions.

Well done, MACIAN. :cool: