PDA

View Full Version : swop Win98 for WinXP

Thomas01
20-09-2004, 01:03 PM
My desktop an early Pentium has lots of memory and a good graphics card etc. It runs Win98
My laptop runs WinXP
My first laptop got stolen, but clearing out my study the other day I came across the XP installation disk.
Now the s**s who stole my first laptop have no right to the OS so I presume I still own it and can put it in my desktop.
I have no experience of installing XP so have no idea of potential problems - would it be wise to install it in my desktop and would it be legal ?

Pete O\'Neil
20-09-2004, 01:16 PM
> My desktop an early Pentium has lots of memory and a
> good graphics card etc. It runs Win98
> My laptop runs WinXP
> My first laptop got stolen, but clearing out my study
> the other day I came across the XP installation disk.
>
> Now the s**s who stole my first laptop have no right
> to the OS so I presume I still own it and can put it
> in my desktop.
> I have no experience of installing XP so have no idea
> of potential problems - would it be wise to install
> it in my desktop and would it be legal ?
>

A) If its a Pentium1 then Windows XP wont run on your desktop. Could you be a lil more detailed in your description of your desktops hardware?

B)Was your copy of Windows XP OEM or Full? It most likely OEM which means legally it can only be used with the machine it was brought with.

C)Do you even have the CD Key?

Patrick 2003
20-09-2004, 01:57 PM
i agree what pete said, you wil never get xp running on the p1, mind you i have seen xp working on a cyrix 166 only just tho:D when you install xp dont you have to activate it and once you activate it you cant install it again?? ?:|

Mzee
20-09-2004, 03:51 PM
I would like to make the following points:-
1) If your XP has not been activated for over 4 months you should have no problem reactivating it.