PDA

View Full Version : MSF 2004



JJJJJ
17-09-2004, 10:00 PM
Well thanks to Bruce I managed to get My joystick working and I have loaded MS Flight 2004. I find it quite easy controlling the aircraf and it's a bit of fun.
But I am disgusted with the quality of the scenery. I checked out several airports that I am familiar with and the general layout bears no resemblance to the real thing. The only thing they have in common is the runway numbers. And in the case of Rotorua they even got that wrong. Runway 01 is labelled 1.
And its very hard to spot the runway from the air. In real life the runway stands out clearly 10 miles away. In FS you are lucky from half a mile.
In fact I got lost flying in the Rotorua circuit. The only way I could be sure where I was going was to fly compass headings.
Overall a very poor product.
But I enjoyed diving a 737 at full throttle into the middle of the Auckland Terminal.
Jack

Jester
17-09-2004, 11:24 PM
JJJJJ, there are plenty of things to do to get MS Flight Sim looking pretty. I just quickly took three screenshots to show how the scenery can look.

Rotorua - on Runway (http://sal.neoburn.net/imagef1/files/rot1.jpg)


Heading Towards Rotorua (http://sal.neoburn.net/imagef1/files/rot2.jpg)


Over Thames looking East (http://sal.neoburn.net/imagef1/files/thames1.jpg)

The most important thing to get first is NZ 150m 'mesh' (puts in mountains and gives NZ some terrain) also some scenery files (adds local landmarks) and finally get landclass files (gives the countryside that patterned look) loaded.

Here are some useful links

http://godzone.windowlight.co.nz - You can buy scenery on CD from Robin Corn here. Cost is $50 for 4 dscs or $15 per disk. I ordered it and was with me in one day.

http://www.pmstone.com/home.php

http://www.windowlight.co.nz/index.htm

http://library.avsim.net/login.php - Free Registration required

http://www.flightsim.com/cgi/kds/main/menuchoo.htm

It really is quite a time consuming program once you get into it

J
:D

stu120404
17-09-2004, 11:35 PM
> But I enjoyed diving a 737 at full throttle into the
> middle of the Auckland Terminal.

lol :D

metla
17-09-2004, 11:36 PM
Perfect excuse to spend some money Jack,instead of buying that all new comp you mentioned,just lay down $800 to $1200 on a video card,and crank all the res,detail and advanced features through the roof to get the perfect onscreen image.

JJJJJ
18-09-2004, 08:07 AM
Thanks for the replies.
Just a couple more questions. I am completely without knowledge or experience of filters and add ons etc.
Do I have to buy the four CD's ? or just the one for FS2004?
How do I install them? Just run the CD and forget or is there more than that?
My video card is NVidia GeForce 5200. Is this good enough? If I replace it,What with??

basil
18-09-2004, 08:47 AM
Jester

Did you get that Boeing 747 down on the ground using the Rotorua runway?

A few minutes before I saw your post, I had been looking at the TUMONZ website and was facsinated with what I saw. Just out of idle curiosity, can the TUMONZ map be used with Flight Simulator? (Perhaps the guy who makes the NZ add-on scenery uses the TUMONZ stuff?)

Susan B
18-09-2004, 10:02 AM
Cripes, those shots of Rotorua airport look damn good! :O

Can you actually land that beast on Rotorua runway?? In the flight sim I mean. :D

Those scenery shots look just like the real thing, including the one looking out towards the sea - I didn't know you could get maps of NZ scenery. Man, that looks like fun!

Now I feel like getting a flight sim... how hard is it to learn to fly? I would probably be useless at it though, like just about everything else. :-(

JJJJJ
18-09-2004, 10:13 AM
SusanB. Of course you could learn to fly. Simple as driving a car. I used to say I could teach a monkey to fly. Never found one who wanted to learn.
Jack

Susan B
18-09-2004, 10:39 AM
Jack: :^O

Well I know who to ask when I need lessons then, don't I? :D

Tell me, is all of the dialogue between pilot and traffic control, etc spoken or is there an option for you to have captions (ie text) instead?

Jester
18-09-2004, 12:06 PM
JJJJJ

You only need to buy the disc for the scenery that interests you (I assume you are talking about the Godzone scenery) To install it all you do is drag the folder with the scenery from the CD into the :\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Flight Simulator 9 folder on your PC. Then you activate it from within the game. Here is a screenshot (http://sal.neoburn.net/imagef1/files/FSLocations.jpg) of my folders.

You can turn down most of the graphics in the game to run on almost any graphics card. It runs on my kids' 5200 with 64meg of video ram fine. The amount of auto-generated scenery and AI planes in the air will also affect your performance.

Basil and SB

No, I didn't successfully land OR take off from Rotorua LOL. The runway is way too short.

You can select a runway to start at then go into 'slew' mode and get the plane in the air - move it around etc whilst paused. The cheat's way hehe.

The dialogue between you and the air traffic control is both spoken and text. Essentially you have to respond to what they ask or tell you to do by pressing a number key. You can turn off their and your voice though, however when flying it's best to have the text window closed and just listen and respond to them talking to you - rather than the other aircraft in the area.

I like flying via instruments. The Air Traffic Control will tell you what heading, what altitude and basically put you in front of the runway all you do is land it. You can set the auto-pilot to hold the heading, speed and altitude. It's awesome seeing other planes in the air landing, on the taxiway and taking off and having to wait your turn to land.

I took a few more screenshots (http://www.splatty.orcon.net.nz/fs/)during a trip from Wellington to Auckland. You will see Ohakia airport and the Ruapehu/Tongarairo Mountains. Yeah I like the LOTR plane :)

It would be awesome to set up a multiplayer game, and have a race in old planes from A to B with PF1 people. I have played on USA multiplayer games and ping doesn't seem to be an issue.

J
:D

JJJJJ
18-09-2004, 04:53 PM
Thanks Jester. That certainly looks more realistic. I was expecting something like that iwith the game. Silly me. Guess I'll have to spend some more money.
Jack.

metla
18-09-2004, 06:41 PM
> My video card is NVidia GeForce 5200. Is this good
> enough? If I replace it,What with??

Depends on perspective,does it run the game?...we know it does so to many people the answer would be yes.Still,no need to settle for substaerd visuals if you have the cash and a will to use it.

The video card drivers have some settings that increase the quality of your onscreen image quitre drasticly,but enabling these on a 5200 will stop it in its tracks instantly,The AF inparticuler keeps textues sharp in teh distance rather then bluring them out,which i would imagine would have great effect when miles up in the air and looking for a runway.

Aside from the video card setting(which your card can't handle) we have ingame settings,i have no idea what they are set to at the moment,but a better card would enable you to turn all the visual effects of the game up to there max settings,This would i imagine cripple your current card.

You would also be able to run the game at the maximum resolution your monitor allows,this makes a huge difference,and once again would cripple a 5200.


What should you get?

GeForce 6800,whichever model fits your budget.Midrange is always a good bet,highend is worth lookin at.