PDA

View Full Version : Resetting BIOS how?



Scattershot06
17-09-2004, 04:00 PM
I forgot my BIOS password. I believe I now have to take out the jumper cables of the battery(??) or something?
Since Iv'e never done this, is this dangerous?, could anyone tell me step-by-step how to carry this task out?

Cheers,

Lohsing
17-09-2004, 04:04 PM
How are you at electronics, etc? I would suggest getting a PC store to do it for you, otherwise you could cause considerable damage over something as small as removing the cmos battery.

Lo.

Spacemannz
17-09-2004, 04:04 PM
You have to open the case and you'll see a battery (round) somewhere. TURN the power OFF first before u do this. Wait about 30 secs, then put it back.

Then you'll have to boot up/go into the BIOS and change the settings for whatever, then save the settings again.

andrew93
17-09-2004, 04:09 PM
Have a read of this (http://www.elfqrin.com/docs/biospw.html)

Pete O\'Neil
17-09-2004, 04:28 PM
> You have to open the case and you'll see a battery
> (round) somewhere. TURN the power OFF first before u
> do this. Wait about 30 secs, then put it back.
>
> Then you'll have to boot up/go into the BIOS and
> change the settings for whatever, then save the
> settings again.

You dont need to do that, most motherboard have a jumper that you switch over to reset the BIOS.

Spacemannz
17-09-2004, 04:40 PM
U still have to open the case to get to the jumper and still go into the BIOS after.

Terry Porritt
17-09-2004, 06:03 PM
OR..... adding to Andrews' post, you can try using a bios password finder program like the one from here:

http://www.softpedia.com/public/cat/14/2/14-2-17.shtml