PDA

View Full Version : How to stop and start you MDK LAN.



Dianne2
16-09-2004, 02:32 PM
Mandrake 9.2/10 is being promoted as a viable Graphic User Interface alternative to Windows. I am in the process of evaluating MDK for that role, expectations are not being met.

There is no GUI tool (That I can find) to simply activate and deactivate the LAN. In the supplied product Documentation, and in the FPP downloadable Docs there are no clear instructions for this process.

The helpful people at PF1 have solved my small problem so:

To stop/shut down the LAN.

(If you network is not functioning correctly, but is not listed as up. You should shut it down, before attempting to restart it)

Open a shell (Text sensitive) from the applications menu (Started with the far left icon on the tool bar)

Type: su (press enter)
(root password) (Enter)
/ect/init.d/network stop (enter)
You should get a message:
Shutting down interface eth0: [ok]
Shutting down Loopback interface: [ok]

Depending on your configuration there may be others. once they are all [ok] or issue resolved.

Type: /etc/init.d/network start (enter)
You should get a message:
Setting network parameters: [ok]
Bringing up Loopback interface: [ok]
Bringing up interface eth0: [ok]

You will have to wait the normal time for eth0 to initiate.
You should the double check in drake control center that the eth0 is shown as up.

If this is so.
Type: exit (enter)

And close your shell.

Thank you chill.

Now what I need is some one to show me how to write a little program (batch file) to do all of this, that people can command from an icon in Lin N/hood, or on the desktop, unless there is one in the new MDK version.

Dianne.

Chilling_Silence
16-09-2004, 04:17 PM
A batch file... In Linux they're called Bash scripts.

Open a text editor and type:
#!/bin/bash
/etc/init.d/network stop
/etc/init.d/network start


Save it to /home/username/Restart_Lan.sh

Now, make a shortcut on your desktop to the command:
kdesu /home/username/Restart_Lan.sh

It'll now prompt your for your root password each time you click it, then as root it will run the Restart_Lan.sh Bash Script :-)

*Just for Clarification - BASH is the name of the command prompt in Linux, hence Bash Script... a .sh file means .shell, so it lets you know you can run it from command-line, even though Linux doesnt depend on file extentions*

Cheers


Chill.

Dolby Digital
16-09-2004, 05:57 PM
Actually there is a way via the GUI although not that obvious (?). Select Configuration --> Mandrake Control Center --> Network and Internet --> DrakConnect --> Your Lan information will be displayed i.e. whether your ethernet card is "up". Now click on Expert Mode --> Configure Local Area Network. You can Deactivate it if its up.

A shell script as described by Chill maybe quicker. Depending on what your requirements are, Mandrake may not be the best Linux distribution to evaluate (although I like it, but then I tend to be slightly geeky in nature :) ).

Chilling_Silence
16-09-2004, 06:06 PM
*Chill puts up a hand for Yoper Linux

http://www.yoper.com
http://www.yoper.com/screenshots.html

Kiwi enginuity at its best!

Dolby Digital
16-09-2004, 06:32 PM
>>Chill puts up a hand for Yoper Linux
Trust you Chill :) . Buy, Kiwi made eh... well Kiwi put together anyway. I must try it one day.

Dianne2
17-09-2004, 06:11 PM
> A batch file... In Linux they're called Bash
> scripts.
>
> Open a text editor and type:
> #!/bin/bash
> /etc/init.d/network stop
> /etc/init.d/network start
>
>
> Save it to /home/username/Restart_Lan.sh
>
> Now, make a shortcut on your desktop to the command:
> kdesu /home/username/Restart_Lan.sh
>
> It'll now prompt your for your root password each
> time you click it, then as root it will run the
> Restart_Lan.sh Bash Script :-)
>
> *Just for Clarification - BASH is the name of the
> command prompt in Linux, hence Bash Script... a .sh
> file means .shell, so it lets you know you can run it
> from command-line, even though Linux doesnt depend
> on file extentions*
>
> Cheers
>
>
> Chill.


Chill.

Good afternoon.

I did this in "kate" as the first time I did it in "kwrite" it did not work.

But I still get the same error message.

"KDEInit could not launch 'kdesu /home/username/Restart_Lan.sh'
could not find 'kdesu /home/username/Restart_Lan.sh' executable"

I also tried:

‘/home/username/kdesu_Restart_Lan.sh'

And

‘/home/username/kdesu/Restart_Lan.sh'

As file names with no success, these can be found but “not launched”

Any advice would be appreciated.

I also installed MDK 10 in a spare machine today, it does not have any better GUI controls for the LAN. Also it did not mount the Compat/Disk or install LIN Neighborhood automatically, as 9.2 did when given the same options.

The menu item for LIN Neighborhood is also put in a different place when manually installed afterwards.

There are not as many options for desktop and display window styles. Style generall has become very XP, for want of a better expression

I received a promotional email today from MDK today that says Ver10.1 is available for download for members and will be available for free download in November.

Dianne.

Dolby Digital
17-09-2004, 06:34 PM
>>As file names with no success, these can be found but “not launched”
They are probably not "executable".

cd /home/username
chmod +x Restart_Lan.sh
./Restart_Lan.sh

It should have run the script...