PDA

View Full Version : Firefox tab browsing.



beetle
13-09-2004, 10:35 PM
Hi ya

Everything works just fine, just when click on link to open new tab, it is supposed to open in the back ground, but it doesnt.

Have checked the settings but find they all say open in back ground anyway.

Where or what am i likely to be missing ?


its a pain having a nw tab take over the screen while at work.

ideas or remedies appreciated.

beetle

beama
13-09-2004, 10:44 PM
try tools->Options->advanced->browsing, tick beside "open links in background"

pulling hair out
13-09-2004, 11:11 PM
Hi Beama,

Sorry to butt in on your post Beetle, but I had tried to do that too.
But in tools>options>browsing I don't have "open links in background".

have Firefox v0.9.3 with Noia theme.

Strange. But I can't help you Beetle, at all, sorry.

Marg.

beama
13-09-2004, 11:22 PM
sorry maybe my fault
does your "browsing have a + beside it so click on the + that will expand the option tree. Im using firefox 0.8

pulling hair out
13-09-2004, 11:27 PM
Hi Beama

I did click the + to enlarge the menu.

- hide taskbar when only one website open.= ticked
- select new tabs opened from links. unchecked
- use autoscrolling = ticked
- use smooth scrolling = ticked

Marg.

beama
13-09-2004, 11:32 PM
sorry Marg
Time for me to upgrade I think

zqwerty
13-09-2004, 11:44 PM
http://www.pryan.org/mozilla/site/TheOneKEA/tabprefs/

zqwerty
14-09-2004, 12:14 AM
Just updated both of my versions of Firefox on Win98SE and Win2K Pro to the latest version ie 0.6.8, and both are working fine.

There are plenty of extra options for tabs.

In Firefox go to tools/options/general and stretch the window a little by left clicking and dragging at the bottom to reveal the Tabbed Browsing Options or else you will be fooled and not realize where they are, and then make your choices.

Hope this helps.

Robert

Fire-and-Ice
14-09-2004, 08:12 AM
Assuming you have downloading Tabbrowser Preferences and...

> In Firefox go to tools/options/general and stretch
> the window down a little by left clicking and dragging at
> the bottom to reveal the Tabbed Browsing Options or
> else you will be fooled and not realize where they
> are, and then make your choices.

... under the Links tab make sure the first options is set for New tab unfocussed and the other New tab. Also put a tick in the /Stay in background when loading links.

That should fix it. ;-)

beetle
14-09-2004, 07:32 PM
ha not,

still got a new tab opening in the front of all other tabs, lines and lines till its loaded.

what else do i need to check to make sure it will open in the background??

beetle

beetle
14-09-2004, 07:39 PM
ok retryed again,

did a close down of the prog (2x) and rechecked the ticks and now it works? maybe its me having a bad day.


oh woe is me, can i ever get anything right first pop?

thanxs for all the help people.

beetle