PDA

View Full Version : Nortons Antivirus 2003 & WinXP SP2



Darcy
02-09-2004, 01:54 PM
Hi all,

Just installed SP2 and have run the virus definitions update for nortons, then scanned for viruses, and then re-booted the machine.

The new Security Centre GUI still say's that it has detected Nortons Antivirus is installed however the Status is Unknown, while in the Nortons GUI the status say's it's all OK and up to date...have i missed something??

Is the sheild ment to turn green when all is a OK?

Thanks in advance....
Darsss.

Pacifier
02-09-2004, 02:02 PM
Nortons have an Anti Tamper system in its products that prevent programs from finding out whether they are working or not.

So nothing is wrong, thats the way it will stay, Have a look here (http://www.symantec.com/techsupp/sp2/faq.html) for more info.

CYaBro
02-09-2004, 02:04 PM
The shield will dissappear when all is good.

You could just tell MS Security centre that you will monitor your antivirus software and that will stop it nagging you.

Darcy
02-09-2004, 05:18 PM
Thanks guy's, appreciate the feedback!