PDA

View Full Version : Should install WXPSP2 thread



Rob99
30-08-2004, 09:45 PM
Anyone who wants to have their one word say:

The question: Should I install SP2?

Please only answer yes or no.

Spacemannz
30-08-2004, 09:55 PM
Yup its installed now no prob at all.

supergran
30-08-2004, 09:59 PM
No

stu120404
30-08-2004, 10:50 PM
Yes

(Running Win Xp SP 2 RC 2 for about 4 - 5 weeks now & have not had any major problems & I will be updating to SP2 full once I get the PC world Mag)

icyred
31-08-2004, 12:01 AM
yes

icy

Murray P
31-08-2004, 12:15 AM
No

That's no, not yet, if you have good firewall & AV and no issues that might benefit
from SP2

Cheers Murray P

Greg S
31-08-2004, 12:33 AM
no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no

KingWave
31-08-2004, 02:00 AM
I see Microsoft's marketting is really backfiring here. Nobody wants to upgrade. Rofl

CYaBro
31-08-2004, 10:50 AM
Yes.

Been running it on my work PC since it was officially released and no probs.
Just put it on home PC last week and all is sweet except for one program which will be getting an update for SP2 and there is a fix anyway. (Dr DivX if anyone was wondering)

Both those PC's were done from scratch with a slipstreamed copy of WinXP Pro SP2. You may have problems if you just install it over an existing copy of WinXP???
All new PC's are coming with it installed now.

CYaBro
31-08-2004, 10:51 AM
Sorry that was more than just a yes or a no! ;D

Elephant
31-08-2004, 11:10 AM
Yes

Rob99
31-08-2004, 11:14 AM
Running total so far

YES: 5
NO:3

Looks as tho it might be a good idea by judging the results so far.

Please answer yes or no as I dont care to read any experiences either way, I just want to tally a simple vote.

Spacemannz
31-08-2004, 11:15 AM
Nope I installed SP2 over SP1 and the updates. Not from clean installs. No probs at all. Everything is running fine here.

Spacemannz
31-08-2004, 11:19 AM
Oops forgot to mention the reason maybe coz I didnt buy these as a package . I made them from scratch. I dont think you'll have as many probs with PC's that you make, as with the systems you buy as a package.

Steve_L
31-08-2004, 12:07 PM
No. I don't use IE, Outlook or Messenger, have Zone Alarm and good antivirus. Why risk screwing up XP totally?

CliveM
31-08-2004, 02:22 PM
Yes

FeuerBrennt
31-08-2004, 02:49 PM
Yes for a limited time. Gotta change into Linux soon....

Ashka
31-08-2004, 03:39 PM
Yes

nzStan
31-08-2004, 04:07 PM
No. My software application vendor requested not to upgrade any of our XP computers until they can resolve a problem with SP2.

Rob99
31-08-2004, 04:11 PM
Running total so far

YES: 8
NO:5

Spacemannz was that a yes or no

Greg S
31-08-2004, 04:17 PM
> Running total so far
>
> YES: 8
> NO:5

Actually it's
YES: 8
NO: 99

You forgot to count all my no's

( I speak for the silent majority :D)

Spacemannz
31-08-2004, 04:23 PM
that was a YES since its installed now

Rob99
31-08-2004, 04:39 PM
Running total so far

YES: 9
NO:5

Sorry only one vote each, unless you have a split personality

nzStan
31-08-2004, 04:43 PM
> Running total so far
>
> YES: 9
> NO:5
>
> Sorry only one vote each, unless you have a split
> personality


That's me, and Me and mE

We all said no. :D

Rob99
31-08-2004, 04:45 PM
What happened to ME

nzStan
31-08-2004, 04:47 PM
*must* *resist* *urge* *to* *make* *fun* *of* *WinME*

Murray P
31-08-2004, 04:53 PM
Rob, if your using this as a risk analysis then it's a very poor risk going by the stats thus far presented although, the responses and therefore method is inherently flawed anyway, the risk really depends on your before and after skill and the importance of usage/data, ie, business vs purely home vs (say) study data, etc.

It'll be interesting to see where it ends out all the same, I intend to pass SP2 along (with cautions) to some acquaintances who otherwise may not apply it.

Cheers Murray P

gtr676
31-08-2004, 04:56 PM
YES

Rob99
31-08-2004, 07:24 PM
Hi Murray I agree with what you said, and I won’t be installing SP2 anywhere in the near future on any of my PC's, but any computers I sell from now on will include SP2.
I hope to get many more replies to this thread to give a better representation of what people are doing. We will probably see a trend once there are about 100 or so replies. This will hopefully help some people to answer their own question: should I install SP2 now or wait.
Obviously there are many more reasons to or not to install SP2, but this should give people an idea what other people are doing.

Running total so far

YES: 10
NO: 5

robsonde
31-08-2004, 07:31 PM
yes , i have done SP2 installs on 3 systems with no problems.

Patrick 2003
31-08-2004, 07:35 PM
no for me at the moment, to be totally honest im actually scared to install it, i have got my system that is stable with no problems and have a good av & firewall, im gonna wait it out because i have read a few too many issues with sp2 on press f1

Murray P
31-08-2004, 07:39 PM
Ah, so: Fresh install on a new system, pre-tested for compatibility = Yes.

So .5 in total ;)

Cheers Murray P

heaton
31-08-2004, 08:36 PM
Yes No Problems

mock
31-08-2004, 10:17 PM
Yes
Was running under RC2 without any issues, upgraded to full release no probs at all.
Am running in a corporate network environment, we won't be rolling this out to all the clients until more testing has been done however thus far it is all looking good.
NB. It does pay to understand exactly what SP2 changes, for example some web applications could be adversely affected. if they utilise popups, webDAVetc.

Mike
31-08-2004, 10:20 PM
Yes.

Mike.

bk T
31-08-2004, 10:55 PM
Yes. It's a matter of time - sooner or later.

Rob99
01-09-2004, 12:57 AM
Running total so far

YES: 15
NO: 6

Lohsing
03-09-2004, 10:02 AM
No.

andrew93
03-09-2004, 10:06 AM
Yes.

godfather
03-09-2004, 11:31 AM
Yes

beetle
03-09-2004, 12:02 PM
At this stage No. to 2 comps and yes to one soon.

will test on the new machine.

beetle

agent
03-09-2004, 07:32 PM
It's rather nice to see some people saying "no".

Myself, I'll also say no.

I did have a very good reason (and it must be on this forum somewhere), but I can't find it. I think it had something to do with the changes it made being too restrictive for my liking, plus the fact that I haven't been hit by a worm or virus so far. And I've got my own decent security systems in place.

ruup
03-09-2004, 07:36 PM
Personally , I don't intend to install either SP1 or Sp2 , with a good antivirus/firewall , using Opera and the other anti-spyware programmes , I seem to stay clean enough , that and the fact I tend to format every three months or so anyway... and I found SP1 like walking through cold treacle , so NO way....am I going within 50 meters of SP2.
cheers
ruup

Rob99
03-09-2004, 11:28 PM
Running total so far

YES: 17
NO: 10

Pibs
04-09-2004, 07:16 AM
no

BobM
05-09-2004, 10:49 PM
YES No probs.

Rob99
06-09-2004, 12:13 AM
Running total so far

YES: 18
NO: 11

Also I read in the newspaper the other day that MS recomends that all spy/add ware nasties be removed from the computer before the SP2 is applied. Insturctions in for spyware/ addware removal FAQ (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/faq.jsp?forum=1)

JJJJJ
06-09-2004, 06:57 AM
YES

Megaman
06-09-2004, 10:07 PM
I have

Lucy
07-09-2004, 09:35 PM
YES!!!!

I have and I'm the thickest person on the planet when it comes to stuff like this!! I have disabled the firewall though cos I use Zone Alarm.

Rob99
09-09-2004, 11:05 AM
Running total so far

YES: 21
NO: 11

agent
10-09-2004, 09:34 AM
I'd hazard to say at this point, that peple who are security conscious (ie, use their own firewall and other security products) are the ones who advocate not to install it.

If you're not too up on security, I'd definitely say install it, because it should save your arse.

olldaddy76
10-09-2004, 09:08 PM
Full install of S P 2 this afternoon and as yet are having no problems....If I can do so can you but your choice olldaddy now 78

Pillar
11-09-2004, 03:39 PM
Yes - slipstreamed only.

queenofhearts
12-09-2004, 12:00 AM
After reading all that,I'm too scared to

Rob99
14-09-2004, 11:12 AM
Running total so far

YES: 23
NO: 11

From what I've read if you have a clean computer, you should have no worries. Better still start with a clean install of XP.

One issue with SP2 that I have discovered on someone elses computer is that it disables javascript, so people who use hotmail cannot access their emails via IE or MSN, it was an easy fix in the security by reinabling it.

Elephant
20-09-2004, 12:54 AM
Can we go back to the original question please. I quote below.

>Anyone who wants to have their one word say:

>The question: Should I install SP2?

>Please only answer yes or no.

A few people including me did exactly what you asked.
Other people had to add to the "YES" or "NO" which means to me that they did not comprehend the question or use yes ( with reservations) or use no or even just a maybe like I will wait.

If you read the actual question

"SHOULD *I* INSTALL SP2?"
"I" being "you" in this context I really could not say.

Certainly I must admit it is installed here. Then again I don't use Hotmail.

Your question as in Caps above may be better answered with two words.
Rather than a simple yes or no I would answer with "It depends."

Rob99
20-09-2004, 05:08 PM
Thanks Tony,

We dont nearly have enough info to answer this yet people so I ask again.

SHOULD I INSTALL SP2?
Answer YES of NO only

Running total so far

YES: 23
NO: 11