PDA

View Full Version : OT - AMD Sempron: its it a good or bad thing?



fus1_n
30-08-2004, 05:38 PM
I've herd of the new entry level CPU AMD is bring to New Zea
land. I looked at some of the specs here:http://www.ascent.co.nz/mn-product-template.asp?cname=CPUs
(go down to AMD)
and it doesn't seem as good as Barton

this is pasted:

AMD has recently updated their entry level CPU roadmap, and have announced details on the new Sempron CPU, which is due for release worldwide on the 17th of August. The Sempron is built around the 754 Athlon64 core, but is a 32bit CPU, not 64bit. It will also be multi CPU capable on dual 754 boards. It is designed to replace the Duron and current Athlon XP.

To coincide with this new product, AMD has EOL'd the following CPU's:
All Multi processor Athlon CPU parts
XP2000+
XP2200+
XP2400+
XP2500+

We have almost sold out of these parts, and once gone, no more will be available.

The new Sempron CPU will be available in 2 socket types, 754 (initially) and Socket A (very soon), and in speeds from 2400+ all the way to 4000+ and beyond. We should see the 2800+ through to the 3700+ models in Q3, and the 3800+ and 4000+ models in Q4. The Athlon XP2600+ and faster will continue to be available through until the end of the year.

The marketing theory is that entry level machines can be built using the Sempron 754 CPU (which should be a lower cost than the current XP equivalent), and if the user wishes to upgrade to Athlon64 at a later date they will not have to replace the Motherboard or the RAM, just plug in a 754 A64 CPU. We should see the cost of 754 based Motherboards decrease once these new CPU's hit the market. There will also be socket 939 Sempron available at a future date, to assist witrh this upgrade path.

The Socket A based Sempron's will require Socket A boards with 400FSB support, and many of the current boards may require a BIOS upgrade to recognise these new CPU's. Newer boards which will be released over the coming months should include support out of the box.

It has less L2 Cache:256 KB?, but Barton has 512?


So it Sempron a good or bad thing?

Pete O\'Neil
30-08-2004, 05:46 PM
Sempron is mearly a Throughbred B core Athlon, its designed to compete with the new Celeron D's. Only difference between Sempron and the T-bred b Athlon is that the PR rating have been adjusted.

Whether its a good or bad thing? Hmmm... that depends, tis a good thing for AMD, but for all of us with socket A systems wanting an easy upgrade its not a good thing. if you want to squeeze another 6months out of your old socket A gear it would be a good idea to grab a Barton while there still around.

KingWave
30-08-2004, 06:47 PM
Pete, do you think when they bring out the 4000+ and higher will they be worth replacing say the Barton 3200+ ?

If it was 400FSB and 256kb cache, it might be doubtful, but they might start putting some more cache in maybe?

Pete O\'Neil
30-08-2004, 06:57 PM
> Pete, do you think when they bring out the 4000+ and
> higher will they be worth replacing say the Barton
> 3200+ ?
>
> If it was 400FSB and 256kb cache, it might be
> doubtful, but they might start putting some more
> cache in maybe?


Doubt it, from what ive heard AMD are mearly using up their left over stocks of T-bred B cores, once they run out no-more socket A. Sempron is also being released on skt 754, its just a Athlon64 with 256k Lvl2 cache and no 64bit.

Growly
30-08-2004, 07:40 PM
Top of the line Semprons nearly beat the AMD Athlon 64 3200+s.

They're the new Durons - but are still better than most athlons...

fus1_n
30-08-2004, 09:44 PM
Yeah, but the prices are a bit high right now. I expect that they will come down quickly though.

> Top of the line Semprons nearly beat the AMD Athlon 64 3200+s.

Yeah but AMD 64s are going to take Intel's pants off once windows XP 64 bit edition comes out. right now the FX 5-3 is almost beating pentuim 4 in compatibility mode. Cant wait till main stream users start using AMD 64. Also Dell might start using AMD because Intel cant create 4GHz processors because they will start melting due to packing to many transistors in such a small place.

hey look - Powercolor made a Radeon 9800 (pro?) with an R360 core for
cheep:
http://www.ascent.co.nz/mn-product-spec.asp?pid=309103
http://www.tul.com.tw/Global/productlist.aspx?folderid=1&cat1=12&cat2=1&cat3=293
similar to MSI's:
http://www.msi.com.tw/program/products/vga/vga/pro_vga_detail.php?UID=576

I hear that GeCube make one aswell.

Pete O\'Neil
31-08-2004, 10:56 AM
Yeah I got tricked by that 9800 aswell, its actually only got a 128bit memory interface meaning it will preform around the level of a 9800SE/9600. Its a waste of money, better of spending the extra $60 and getting the MSI card, which should be around 100% faster.