PDA

View Full Version : SP2 Problems



tkelly
26-08-2004, 08:44 AM
Recently installed SP2 onto a Dell laptop running XP Home. Since then, have found that sometimes short-cuts won't work, Word etc take forever to load. Have scanned for viruses etc - all looks clean. The problem seems to be resolved by a couple of reboots - anyone know what might be causing this ...?

Thanks

stu120404
26-08-2004, 10:40 PM
> Recently installed SP2 onto a Dell laptop running XP
> Home.

did you download it from the MS site or from windows update?

ApeNz
26-08-2004, 10:44 PM
I had problems with SP2 for a while then i tweaked a bit and it got better , still not as good as before but its improving

tkelly
26-08-2004, 11:47 PM
I downloaded it via the update service - does this make a difference?

Mzee
29-08-2004, 10:11 PM
Why does everyone want to install sp2 ?
XP works fine without it, so why bloat your system just because Microsoft say you should?

Have you wondered why they want you to install it?

If your system is doing everything you want it to, leave it alone :)

Augustus
29-08-2004, 10:36 PM
BECAUSE ITS THERE!

Vince
30-08-2004, 03:47 AM
> Recently installed SP2 onto a Dell laptop running XP
> Home. Since then, have found that sometimes
> short-cuts won't work,

It is probably the firewall, or some other security feature. Look in Control Pannel, 'Intrnet Security' I think it is called.

Word etc take forever to load.

Have you defragged your hard disk? It probably needs it after installing SP2. Vince

Big John
30-08-2004, 04:46 AM
> Why does everyone want to install sp2 ?
> XP works fine without it, so why bloat your system
> just because Microsoft say you should?
>
> Have you wondered why they want you to install it?
>
> If your system is doing everything you want it to,
> leave it alone :)

Security updates. Maybe thats why so many people have problems with their computers. Still using the original release of XP with no service pack installed at all.

Mzee
30-08-2004, 02:07 PM
I have two computers both running XP Pro for about 3 years now. One has sp1 because the D-Link modem required it, the other has no updates (only anti virus & fire wall).

Neither of these computers has ever given Windows related problems. One had to have a new drive, but that was nothing to do with the software.

I am not into gaming or wireless, so maybe that's why I don't need updates?