PDA

View Full Version : XP Pro Corp Edition



Lohsing
18-08-2004, 04:01 PM
Hi guys - Just wondering... is the whole activation thing of XP Pro Corp edition removed from the CD itself, or on the recognition of the infamous "FCKGW" key?

2nd question - is a genuine OEM key usable on the XP Pro Corp install instead of the pirated key? Or is the installation dependent on the key being a genuine Corporate key?

Lo.

Mike
18-08-2004, 04:09 PM
> Hi guys - Just wondering... is the whole activation
> thing of XP Pro Corp edition removed from the CD
> itself, or on the recognition of the infamous "FCKGW"
> key?

There is no activation in the corporate (or enterprise) version of Windows XP.

> 2nd question - is a genuine OEM key usable on the XP
> Pro Corp install instead of the pirated key? Or is
> the installation dependent on the key being a genuine
> Corporate key?

I believe you need a corporate key to use the corporate version of XP. The old FCKGW key used to work before SP1, but I think SP1 (and now I guess SP2) would look for this key, and others, on install and if found they'd ask for the new key.

Mike.

CYaBro
18-08-2004, 04:19 PM
It's removed from the Windows install files.

You can only use special Volume Lisence keys to install the corp edition.

You'll notice when you do an install when it gets to the page where it asks for the Product key is a bit different for the corp edition.
Instead of saying that your product ID is on the CD case it says that you need your volume liscense key and if you don't have it get it from your network adminstrator.

Chilling_Silence
18-08-2004, 04:22 PM
Loh:
Email me, Ive got some info you may find useful, but others here may not.....

CYaBro
18-08-2004, 04:28 PM
I might ;)

Chilling_Silence
18-08-2004, 04:43 PM
You might? Email me then....

I'd rather not post, just in case, but from the sounds of things you may be right ;-)

kiki
18-08-2004, 04:46 PM
Sounds interesting, Msn me with it Chill. ;)

wooda2
18-08-2004, 09:06 PM
i couldn't get the sp's on my corp edition so went back to win2k. almost the same i feel

Lohsing
18-08-2004, 09:10 PM
> i couldn't get the sp's on my corp edition so went
> back to win2k. almost the same i feel

Then there is the issue of hyperthreading, etc. Using Win2k means you may as well have just saved the money and bought yourself an AMD system.

Lo.

Chilling_Silence
18-08-2004, 09:49 PM
...And just _why_ can you get them on your Corporate Edition eh?! ;-)

bk T
18-08-2004, 10:57 PM
> Email me, Ive got some info you may find useful, but
> others here may not.....

I can smell of something fishy. However, I am interested to see what fish is that. How do I contact you?

Chilling_Silence
18-08-2004, 11:20 PM
Not really, Ive known Lo' for a while now and know what I have to say may be of interest to him...

Email should be in my profile.