PDA

View Full Version : Creating a database

miknz
17-08-2004, 09:53 PM
I was just reading the post "OT Which programming language should I learn?? " and it got me thinking.
I have been looking for a small program to trace customers details and history. Basiclly what I am after is a program with a "front" pae where I can enter customer name, address, vehicle make, model, rego and a few other fields. This info would go into some sort of database and would be searchable by rego or name so I could update details or find out history. I'm not sure if this makes sense to anyone other than me, is this sort of thing do-able in open office or do I need a different program. Do any of the programming languages mentioned in the above post help build this sort of thing?

any help or comments on this would be greatly appreciated

Mik

Growly
17-08-2004, 09:56 PM
I have no experience with the OpenOffice database program, but I can tell you for sure that it is possible with Office Access :D

miknz
17-08-2004, 09:59 PM
How difficult would it be to set up??

Growly
17-08-2004, 10:08 PM
All you have to do is create a form - not hard - and then create a website that accesses the form.

These are all wizards IIRC.

miknz
17-08-2004, 10:21 PM
ever heard of GNUE?? is this the same as access?

mikebartnz
17-08-2004, 10:32 PM
I could knock up a Delphi program in no time to do that for you if you are interested

miknz
17-08-2004, 11:14 PM
Sounds interesting, what is Delphi?

mikebartnz
17-08-2004, 11:25 PM
Delphi is a pascal language put out by Borland. You can get the personal edition as a free download but to do database work you really need the Professional edition. A lot of the building of a program is done visually by dropping objects on a form.

andrew93
18-08-2004, 12:21 AM
Hi miknz