PDA

View Full Version : My computer game wont work on my laptop!

Amaterian_Angel
08-08-2004, 12:10 PM
I especially bought a laptop that had the specifications to run a computer game I have, uru, but when I put the CD in nothing happens. :O
No auto run comes up… nothing.
If I go to the CD drive there is nothing there.
It’s as if the computer can’t read the disk… X-(
There is nothing wrong with the CD as it works on other computers…
Can someone please help me? :(

Jen C
08-08-2004, 12:27 PM
Hi and Welcome to PressF1 :)

Does your CD drive work OK for other CD's ?

ilikelinux
08-08-2004, 12:40 PM
how old is this laptop?
if it is older than 2 years or so, you may need to shove the cdrom drive in extra hard to get it to work.
I have had some experience like that with at least two laptops.

Amaterian_Angel
08-08-2004, 01:03 PM
Yes it dose...

Amaterian_Angel
08-08-2004, 01:05 PM
The laptop is brand new... I just bought it in April...

Billy T
08-08-2004, 01:47 PM
Is it the original game CD (not a backup copy) and can you check it in another computer?

Also, CDs read from the centre to the outer edge and all of the disk information, table of contents etc is at the start. Make sure that part of the CD is clean. I have found that some drives leak lubricants onto the disk.

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

Amaterian_Angel
08-08-2004, 01:50 PM
Yes it is the orginal disk...
I've tried on 3 other computers and they all work.
and the whole disk is clean (it's brand new).
Also the Demo if the game works on my laptop.

tweak\'e
08-08-2004, 01:56 PM
try to find out what copy protection they have on that disk. unfortunatly some copy protection systems wil not work with certain cd drives. you may need to defeat the protection and make a copy.

Amaterian_Angel
08-08-2004, 02:22 PM
But it's not a copy...
And I'm not trying to copy it... I'm trying to install and play it...

Billy T
08-08-2004, 02:50 PM