PDA

View Full Version : Motherboard help plz



Greg S
29-07-2004, 05:13 AM
Hi. I've stuck together a PC using spare parts, and I would be grateful for a bit of info...

It's an Abit BH6 (manual in pdf is here (http://www.abit-usa.com/downloads/manual/bh6r1-1.zip) 1MB)

1) In the BIOS I can't figure out how to turn off the machine simply by clicking Start/Shutdown etc - it closes Windows but won't switch off the power - y'know it just says that it's now safe to switch off, and I need to power-off at the wall socket switch. My own PC will power-off just from Windows.

2) The manual says it supports up to a P3 500. It's currently got a P3 450, and I wouldn't mind getting a better processor, maybe a 1000 - is there a way to flash the BIOS or something to enable a better cpu? It's a Slot 1. Or is a P3 500 the fastest Pentium made for slot 1?

Thanks.

Laura
29-07-2004, 05:30 AM
Hmmm.... Still doing strange things in the middle of the night, eh?
No doubt the world's helped generally by amazing discoveries by us night owls...?
Only sorry I've not the knowledge to be your computer saviour - but nice to know someone else on PF1's awake.
(Ok everyone. This was an Off Topic bit)

Greg S
29-07-2004, 05:45 AM
lol @ Laura.

I have the dual-edged benefit of working from home. It's cool coz I don't have to run the nightmare Auckland traffic. It's lousy cos basically I'm always at work! hehe And I've developed some very weird hours as a result!

Laura
29-07-2004, 06:06 AM
I say Lucky Man.
You've got it all...
Hope you solve today's computer probs.

Davesdad
29-07-2004, 11:31 AM
The latest bios (06/07/2000)can be downloaded from
http://www.abit-usa.com/downloads/bios/bios_revision.php?categories=1&model=98
It adds support for Celeron upto 700 MHz

Pheonix
29-07-2004, 11:45 AM
Have a read up here (http://www.windows-help.net/windows98/tune-37.htm) as the usual problem is that acpi is not installed. I have used the registry change method before, with a PC that had your problem, sucessfully.

Davesdad
29-07-2004, 11:49 AM
> 1) In the BIOS I can't figure out how to turn off the
> machine simply by clicking Start/Shutdown etc - it
> closes Windows but won't switch off the power -
> y'know it just says that it's now safe to switch off,
> and I need to power-off at the wall socket switch.
> My own PC will power-off just from Windows.

Is ACPI enabled in the BIOS. Have a look at section 3.22 of the manual

Susan B
29-07-2004, 01:06 PM
Hi Greg :-)

I had the same problem a couple of weeks ago and the following two pages helped me fix it:

http://aumha.org/win5/a/shtdwnxp.php - scroll down to the "Powerdown Issues" section about two-thirds the way down the page.

http://www.annoyances.org/exec/show/article06-453

mikebartnz
29-07-2004, 01:23 PM
>I need to power-off at the wall socket switch.
Hold the switch on the PC for 4 seconds. I do think as others have posted that ACPI has not been enabled.

Greg S
29-07-2004, 02:34 PM
Thanks folks. ACPI was disabled, and although after I enabled it it would still not auto power-off, the 4 second hold on the power button worked. So that's a great solution.

Muchas gracius

agent_24
29-07-2004, 02:39 PM
The manual says to go into the bios, go to the "power management setup" then where it has ACPI function, choose "enable". that should make it work.