PDA

View Full Version : Buying a gaming beast...cont

Bigb88
15-07-2004, 06:05 PM
Thanx for all the suggestions guys, unfortunately i didn't quite get to read them all before i shot off and being quite an impulsive buyer got this system:

AMD Athlon64 3200+ 754Pin
1GB DDR-400 Dual-channel
DVD Writer/RW
2x seagate 80GB HDD 7200rpm Serial ATA (RAID 0)
Cooler master tower
Thermaltake 480 power sup.
ASUS X800XT Card
19" Phillips 109b5 CRT
Logitech K/board
Logitech MX-500 Op Mouse

Total cost: $3,880.00

I'm relatively new to the gaming scene and don't quite have the experience or nerve to build my own yet, maybe in a couple years...system will be ready to pick up tomorrow and i'll get Farcry and BFV and probably won't sleep for the next 48 hours :-)

I'm glad i found this forum though, i only wish i had found it a little bit earlier or could have waited a bit longer before buying, but you know what it's like.

Again, thanx heaps.

Bigb

Growly
15-07-2004, 06:18 PM
>Total cost: $3,880.00

DAMN!!! (Uh, i mean, oh blast...)

That looks like a helluva setup you got there - but if you ain't building it, who is? (Apologies if this was covered in other post, much to lazy to read it)

>probably won't sleep for the next 48 hours

I'd say more like next three weeks....

Bigb88
15-07-2004, 06:30 PM
DTC Systems in Dominion road

Pete O\'Neil
15-07-2004, 06:32 PM
Now thats a good system that thing will kick ass for a long time to come. Well done you made some good choices. What brand of RAM & DVD-RW is that?

Bigb88
15-07-2004, 06:55 PM
Liteon...i've never heard of it b4

Pete O\'Neil
15-07-2004, 06:59 PM
Lite-On is good, one of the best actually. What about the RAM? Let me guess i bet it is Twinmos.

Bigb88
15-07-2004, 06:59 PM
the ram is TwinMOS, not sure if this was the brand but only have the spec sheet tonight

Bigb88
15-07-2004, 07:06 PM