PDA

View Full Version : Crazy Network Problem



agent_24
25-06-2004, 08:15 PM
I have 3 Computers networked through a hub:
1.3ghz win XP
900mhz win XP
400mhz win 98SE

Now i have internet sharing, so the 900 and the 400 can connect through the 1.3, and this works fine.

the 900 and the 400 can connect to the 1.3 and view the shared files and printers. this works fine

the 900 and 400 can connect to each other and play games - this works fine

the 1.3 cannot see its own shared folders in My Network Places, nor can it see the other shared folders. clicking on "view workgroup computers" produces a little beep and nothing happens.

anyone have any ideas?

kiki
25-06-2004, 08:54 PM
They are all static assigned IP addresses? Have you enabled firewall rules for all the addresses on the lan?

agent_24
25-06-2004, 08:56 PM
static? i just told the thing to set up a network and do it automatically

JohnD
25-06-2004, 09:37 PM
It will be using DHCP to assign TCP/IP addresses which should be fine. As kiki suggests, you need to check the firewall in the first instance.

agent_24
25-06-2004, 09:54 PM
I have Norton personal firewall on the 1.3 but i have already told it to allow all computers with IP addresses matching my ones, and also its own IP

JohnD
25-06-2004, 10:04 PM
Might need to check XP's own firewall?

Berryb
25-06-2004, 10:13 PM
Since you are using DCHP to assign IP addresses then the IP address may change from the ones you have set in Nortons. If you are going to use DCHP then you are best to tell Nortons to allow an IP range than actual addresses or use static IP's

agent_24
26-06-2004, 11:21 AM
how would i check XP's firewall?

agent_24
26-06-2004, 11:22 AM
hmm - i have tried allowing all ips on norton i can think of in all ways possible i know of , but it still doesnt work

agent_24
26-06-2004, 11:50 AM
here is a picture showing what happens if i tell norton to automatically set the IP's up: here (http://sal.neoburn.net/imagef1/files/Network_Notwork.jpg)

agent_24
26-06-2004, 12:14 PM
Update:

To check the LAN i have hosted a game on my 900 of Civ CTP.

problem is the 400 cannot join. if i host it on the 400 though, the 900 can join.

Pheonix
26-06-2004, 12:25 PM
To check if XP's firewall is active start-settings-network connections -properties-advanced and see if the box is ticked.

Have you tried dropping all firewalls to "eliminate them from your enquiries" as the a source of your problems?

agent_24
27-06-2004, 09:41 PM
yes, dropping all firewalls makes no difference.