PDA

View Full Version : SpywareZapper.com



mark c
18-06-2004, 09:02 AM
Hi, does anyone have any experieince with this place, where you get a free online scan for spyware and dialers?

I ask because I'm getting a bit wary on the net, could be a swifty dialer itself, and I've never heard recommendaion of it by anyone here.

TIA mc :D

johnboy
18-06-2004, 09:23 AM
It could be a bit dodgy as it's listed Bogus Spyware Removal Tools
Here (http://pcpitstop.ibforums.com/axslinger/helpfiles/bogus.htm)
andHere (http://www.netrn.net/archives2/000550.html)

mark c
18-06-2004, 09:25 AM
very dodgy, johnboy, by the looks of it here.... http://forum.aumha.org/viewtopic.php?p=32344

Thanks anyway. Too bad hey?

Just another ruse in the wild west net.

Murray P
18-06-2004, 09:27 AM
Hi Marc

Have a look down the list at Sptware Warrior (http://www.netrn.net/archives2/000571.html) and you will see SpywareZapper listed as a possible rogue antispyware site.

Cheers Murray P

mark c
18-06-2004, 09:37 AM
Yeah. saw that too thanks Murray P.

Grumble grumble.

Thought maybe I had got a dialer on this comp and have been hunting for a hunter without much luck. Most places say to do what I already do,

Firewall / good updated AV / AdAware / Spybot

Had a look in the search here at Pressf1 and couple informative threads but no suggestions for removal. Huge longs list of rogue dialers.

I have checked dial-up connection and the isp (XTRA) and the ph. number are the same and there's no new connections. Dial-up Connection shows nothing different nor the box thay comes up when I right-click the two-monitor icon in the systray. Win98se.

Thanks for your responses, wouldn't be surprised if I'm just being a bit paranoid.

But when I was paranoid before I was also often right! :^O

Pheonix
18-06-2004, 09:56 AM
Try the pestpatrol trial. (http://www.pestpatrol.com/Products/PestPatrolHE/) It doesn't clean what it finds, but at least it will check for you. It will also tell you where it is, so you can manually remove it.

mark c
18-06-2004, 10:34 AM
Thanks for that Phoenix, used PestPatrol, (after going round the gassworks a few times and switching from Opera to IE.)

Found nothing at all.

Would've preferred to find something then I would know I've got it and could deal with it, but now the suspicion remains that the dialer may be outside PestPatrol's scope.

Don't say I've got one.

Curious progress box in the PestPatrol scan, would be better if it showed its progress, or where it was scanning. Just a thought. :)
(Stormy as up here.)