PDA

View Full Version : Blank "Entire Network"



david.castle
09-06-2004, 03:29 PM
I am tying to install a second printer on a networked PC.

I already have one printer working OK on the networked PC.

When I click "Entire Network" in either "My Network Places" or in "Add Printer", I get a great big blank even though Explorer can see the networked PC.

When I try the same on the other PC; no problems.

I seem to remember having this problem before and there was a simple fix but I can't remember what it was.

Anyone have any ideas?

Murray P
09-06-2004, 08:03 PM
What OS?

Cheers Murray P

david.castle
10-06-2004, 06:29 PM
What an ommission! It is Windows ME.


david

Growly
10-06-2004, 06:43 PM
Do yourself a favour, if you ever get this fixed, ditch ME.

(You think it's adequate and that I'm unjustfied, but you'll see)

johnboy
10-06-2004, 08:35 PM
Check this page Here (http://www.homenethelp.com/help/networking-me.asp) half way down describes your problem.

david.castle
16-06-2004, 04:58 PM
Thanks for the reference. I managed to fix it.

As the article said, ME sometimes only checks one network channel instead of the two normally installed. So, sometimes it sees the network and sometimes it doesn't.

To install the second printer (third actually), I checked the path of the already installed ones, then checked the share name of the new printer. From this, I was able to construct the correct path and name for the new printer. I then enter this in the "network path" of "add printer" and even though "browse" could not see the network, it installed no problems. Not only that, it found the drivers from somewhere; presumably from the PC acting as a printer server.

David