PDA

View Full Version : Need Help LAN Set UP



Gods-Hitman
07-06-2004, 12:53 PM
Hey, I have two computers on LAN (PC TO PC via LAN Cable) and also one of the computers has jetstream so I share that over LAN too (Via "Internet Connection Sharing") the 2ed computer picks up the connection but will not use it

*Pic*
http://sal.neoburn.net/imagef1/files/oddLAN.jpg

Can some one help me with this? ..Im realy lost I have tryed reinstalling the LAN cards, Re-Newing the IP's but all I can do is share files but not internet HELP!

Thank You
Gods-Hitman~2004

drcspy
07-06-2004, 12:55 PM
www.analogx.com go there and look thru their downloadable files under 'network' get 'proxy' it's a breeze to setup.......far easier in my opinion than any Microsoft Ics system

Chilling_Silence
07-06-2004, 01:05 PM
How about you try this:
Click Start
Run
type:
cmd
Now, type:
ipconfig /all

Im after the DNS Servers.

Also, try the following:
ping pressf1.co.nz
ping 210.48.100.45

Post back with the results from both ping commands too

Cheers


Chill.

Gods-Hitman
07-06-2004, 01:12 PM
Ok,

Ping Thingy:
http://sal.neoburn.net/imagef1/files/ping.jpg

and Im downloading the file/app off www.analogx.com
if this works how do I set it up so I can play CS Online from computer2

drcspy
07-06-2004, 01:16 PM
proxy comes with a simple good readme file use it :-)

Murray P
07-06-2004, 03:39 PM
Whats your gateway set to in TCP/IP properties. As far as I can see it's not set to anything. What sort of modem/router are you using?

Cheers Murray P

Gods-Hitman
07-06-2004, 05:48 PM
http://sal.neoburn.net/imagef1/files/ping2.jpg
Tryed it but nothing....

Chilling_Silence
07-06-2004, 06:55 PM
This has me slightly confused, as in the first Pic, it looks like you're setup for DHCP but its failed, yet in the second pic you've specified an IP address.

So, Im assuming you know to go into Network Connections (In the Control Panel) and bring up the Properties for your LAN Connection, then the TCP / IP Properties....

First off though, you're going to go over to your PC that you're using as a Gateway (The one that is sharing your Internet Connection) and you're going to:
Click Start
Run
type in:
cmd
Now type:
ipconfig /all

Now you're going to back to your Client PC and type in the IP Address of the first PC, except you're going to add one to the last box.. So it'll likely be:
10.0.0.3
subnet mask is:
255.0.0.0
Gateway is:
10.0.0.X
Where "X" above is the IP Address of your Gateway PC

Next, specify your DNS Servers:
202.74.207.10
202.74.207.100
Hit Okay, close all open windows, and give it another shot :-)

Cheers


Chill.

Gods-Hitman
07-06-2004, 07:34 PM
http://sal.neoburn.net/imagef1/files/ping3.jpg

Im I think Im never going to get this working with out reinstalling windows :(

Chilling_Silence
07-06-2004, 08:18 PM
What's the IP Address of your Router?

Try setting the Gateway as:
10.0.0.2

Gods-Hitman
07-06-2004, 08:23 PM
Router?!?!? I don't have one but saving for one :D, just using D-Link - DSL 200 *USB* and getting the desktop to share internet to the laptop but its not working so well....

Try setting the Gateway as:
10.0.0.2

=Nope

Chilling_Silence
07-06-2004, 08:52 PM
Okay... So you've got an Internal ADSL Modem then, correct?

Enable ICS on the PC with the Modem then, it'll change your LAN adapter settings to:
192.168.0.1
255.255.255.0
There will be no Gateway, this is fine.

Next, on your Client PC, set the Network TCP / IP Settings as:
192.168.0.2
255.255.255.0
192.168.0.1
DNS:
192.168.0.1
202.74.207.10

Give that a shot.

If you have enabled ICS (Internet Connection Sharing) then WinXP will automatically set the LAN Adapters IP as 192.168.0.1 on the Gateway.. So have another go


Chill.

Gods-Hitman
07-06-2004, 10:27 PM
THANK YOU! CHILL!
IT WORKED!

Chilling_Silence
07-06-2004, 11:15 PM
Glad to help :-) I suspected something was up, and didnt want to say it, but Formatting wasnt gonna help.

Good on you for hanging in there and seeing it through :-)


Chill.

metla
07-06-2004, 11:19 PM
Now charge him $180 bucks,i hear thats the going rate ]:)