PDA

View Full Version : Forwarding Ports

mattpen
07-06-2004, 11:41 AM
Can anyone help me as I would like to be able to forward port number 4662.

My system config is:

Win XP Pro with Zone Alarm Pro.
Jetstream using an ethernet connection to a DSE ethernet router model XH 1149.

Don't know if the above is sufficient information but ask otherwise.

I am a newbie so an idiots guide would be really appreciated (real detailed and baby steps in the instructions please)

Thanks in advance.

Jen C
07-06-2004, 11:48 AM
Hi mattpen, Welcome to PressF1 :)

DSE has a really cool interactive router configuration page for the XH1149 - see here (http://www.dse.co.nz/pages/xh1149/index.htm). To port forward, you need to create a new virtual server. Specific step-by-step instructions are here (http://www.dse.co.nz/pages/xh1149/help.htm#virtualsever).

Please post back if you have any questions :)

Jen C
07-06-2004, 12:01 PM
OK, back again. Just decided that those step-by-step instructions may be a bit too technical ...

So, here is what you need to do

Open up your routers configuration home page
1. Under Configuration select Virtual Server

2. Under "Map a Port" enter in:
- public: 4662
- private: 4662
- Type: TCP
- IP Address: your internal IP address eg 192.168.1.X [get the correct IP for your machine off the Home page under DHCP tables]
- Click Add Port

Note: you may need to also port forward using the UDP protocol as well, in which case repeat all the above steps but this time select UDP.

Then click save changes and restart router.

Jester
07-06-2004, 12:12 PM
Jen's got it exactly right - that's what I did for DC++ and it works a treat.

mattpen
08-06-2004, 12:06 AM
Jen C

Many thanks for your very clear instructions. I got it going on the first attempt!

You must have been psychic as I had to open a UDP port as well.