PDA

View Full Version : pc will not shut down



Stick
26-05-2004, 08:12 PM
I running win 98, the pc will not shut down (turn power off)I can restart no problem. If you "alt" "ctrl" "delete" & end tasks I can shut all down excep "RNAAPP" what is this? May this be the problem?

godfather
26-05-2004, 08:21 PM
RNAAPP (Remote Network Access Application) is a core executable for running Microsoft Windows Dial-Up Networking. It does not close for up to 15 minutes after disconnecting the modem connection, on the basis you might need it again.

Unless its damaged it should not cause your hangup though.

Billy T
27-05-2004, 09:32 AM
Hi Stick

This Thread (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/thread.jsp?forum=1&thread=32999&message=145639&q=shutdown#145639) may contain the answer you need. W98 shutdown problems are quite common and this cured mine many moons ago.

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

Terry Porritt
27-05-2004, 10:35 AM
If the suggestions already given dont work try this:

Shutdown problems can also be caused by rogue programs not closing down properly, sometimes due to a bit of corruption or a dodgy device driver.

If you go Start button and Run, and type in msconfig, then click on trhe Startup tab you will see a list of the running programs.

To test if any of these are causing the problem, uncheck everything there except System Tray and restart. If the system then shuts down OK it indicates one of those programs is causing the problem. If it does that, you can reinstate the programs one by one, restarting each time until the problem appears. You have then found the program.

Then try uninstalling that program completely and re-installing, hopefully the problem may go away.

If after unchecking all the programs, Windows still doesnt shut down properly then I'd begin to suspect a hardware fault, possibly faulty memory.

Stick
28-05-2004, 07:48 PM
thanks Terry, I unchecked all except system tray & restarted then rechecked and found that IST service had become checked again. Tried to shut down but power would not turn off. Unchecked IST service again and restarted and it became checked again. May this be the problem?? What is IST service?

zqwerty
28-05-2004, 07:53 PM
Not part of Windows anyway. Go here to get an idea on what it may be:

http://www.kephyr.com/filedb/index.php?viewtopic=IST%20Service

Rob

zqwerty
28-05-2004, 07:56 PM
I am pretty sure it is Spyware, you should probably un-instal it.

http://www.kephyr.com/spywarescanner/library/istbar/index.phtml

Rob

Terry Porritt
28-05-2004, 10:09 PM
Zqwerty has pinned down the IST thing. If you have Adaware or Spybot try running those to see if it can get rid of IST. Adaware and Spybot are on this months May PC World CD.

Else follow those steps detailed in zqwerty's link.

That IST could well be the rogue program stopping shut down.

Stick
29-05-2004, 09:04 AM
I got rid of it manually. Adaware or Spybot would not recognize it. Still working on getting the pc to turn off

Terry Porritt
29-05-2004, 01:13 PM
OK, different things are being eliminated.

I found theses site amongst many

here (http://inquirer.philly.com/newsroom/faq/pages/fdb7df9-49.html) and here (http://www.wintrouble.net/discus/messages/64/953.html) that give some trouble shooting tips on what to do and look for.

Another site suggested that if all the software fixes dont work, then there could be a problem with the power supply (ATX type)

Stick
30-05-2004, 08:05 PM
I've tried all the info thats been given, also my own research but pc will still not turn off normally. Found, if boot pc in 'safe-mode' and shut down, pc shuts down correctly (turns power supply off). Now thinking of formatting and re-installing. Thanks for your help.

Billy T
30-05-2004, 08:45 PM
So it is not finally shutting down the power supply that is the problem? I take it then that it gets to the "You may now shutdown your computer" screen?

If it doesn't get to that stage and stalls with a blank desktop it should still be possible to see where it is stopping.

Before you reformat, have you considered doing a full install over the top of your existing installation? (Please excuse me if you have posted the answer to that, I can't see your earlier posts right now.)

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

Terry Porritt
31-05-2004, 07:49 AM
The fact that it does shut down ok from Safe Mode strongly suggests that the problem is to do with a faulty driver., but how to find it? You could try disabling devices in Device Manager-Properties, even change the video adapter to a standard VGA which is what happens in Safe Mode, to see if that is the cause.

Stick
31-05-2004, 09:45 PM
[The fact that it does shut down ok from Safe Mode strongly suggests that the problem is to do with a faulty driver., but how to find it? You could try disabling devices in Device Manager-Properties, even change the video adapter to a standard VGA which is what happens in Safe Mode, to see if that is the cause.]

I have done all this with no luck. I think it is a sound driver by a window that pooped up once on my wife. have removed the drivers & reinstalled then but still no luck

[Before you reformat, have you considered doing a full install over the top of your existing installation?]


I have done this, Tomorrow I's gets a full format

Terry Porritt
01-06-2004, 08:02 AM
Well, when all the software tests dont find the problem, it is always worth testing the memory, just in case there is a bit of flakiness in there. All sorts of wierd things can happen if the memory is not 100%.

Memtest86 is very searching.

http://www.memtest86.com/