PDA

View Full Version : Linux- Mandrake 8.0- No GUI



Megaman
21-04-2004, 09:38 PM
Linux Mandrake problems. I recently un-installed mandrake 9.0 because the computer was running verry slowly. i have now installed mandrake 8.0. however, it installed all the packages, configured the networking, then the thing froze when it was going to configure X. after trying to configure it (the command xf86config), it configures it, then i tell it to write to /etc/X11/X. but then i type startx, and it complains it cant find the config file. so now i have linux, with no GUI.

i hate that computer. i really do :|

JohnD
21-04-2004, 09:54 PM
Is it definitely can't find the config file or can't start X?

What video card do you have - is it supported out of the box with Mandrake 8?

Megaman
21-04-2004, 10:16 PM
NFI. the computer is 8 years old

linux wasnt around when we got the computer

Megaman
21-04-2004, 10:17 PM
it comes up with "no file found" then about 30 seconds later it comes up with lotsa text

JohnD
21-04-2004, 11:08 PM
Linux was definitely around 8 years ago - probably about Redhat 5 or so.

Does Mandrake 8 still have the Xconfigurator tool - might be worth a try?

JohnD
21-04-2004, 11:20 PM
>then i tell it to write to /etc/X11/X.

Shouldn't it be writing to the /etc/X11/XF86Config file?

Chilling_Silence
22-04-2004, 12:57 AM
If Mandrake 9 is slow then 8 wont be much better...

Try Vector Linux.

Either that or use Xfce as your Desktop-Environment, in either 8 or 9!


Chill.

Dolby Digital
22-04-2004, 09:41 AM
What are the specs of the pc?

Megaman
22-04-2004, 11:36 AM
amd k5- 166mhz*

32mb ram

40gb h/d (new)

*it shows up as 117mhz

and i plan on using icewm as my GUI

and i would download vector linux, and use that, if i had a CD Writer

Dolby Digital
22-04-2004, 01:11 PM
I run Mandrake 8.2 on a P166 (Pentium not AMD) with 64MB Ram and it runs sort of ok with Gnome just.

Vector Linux which is based on Slackware is better suited to low spec pc's as Chill suggested.