PDA

View Full Version : Intergated graphics to and agp graphics card



Patrick 2003
17-04-2004, 12:10 PM
hi there,
im considering buying and agp graphics card maybe a GeForce MX440 or something. but the thing is is that i have intergated graphics (32Mb) and i have a spare agp slot. so if i buy the graphics card and put it in my computer will it use that amount of memory from the graphics card not the intergrated?
here are my pc specs

DSE Ronin
Pentium 4 1.8Ghz Northwood
256mb RAM
Windows XP
Motherboard:Commate P4GA

any help would be great
patrick

hamstar
17-04-2004, 12:18 PM
There should be jumpers on the motherboard that denote whether you want to use AGP or intergrated graphics...

But to be on the safe side just set your integrated graphics to take only 4 or 8mb of system memory (BIOS setting) before installing your card.

Patrick 2003
17-04-2004, 12:20 PM
are those jumpers switches on the motherboard?

nadius
17-04-2004, 01:00 PM
hi patrick,
yes, jumpers are switches on the motherboard. but you shouldn't have to do it that way - you should be able to do it in the bios.

look for something named "onboard graphics" and set it to "disabled".

that's how it is on my pc anyway.

dan

PoWa
17-04-2004, 01:17 PM
The integrated graphics chip you have is using your system memory.

So if you get a new card, you will start using the memory off that and possibly free up that 34mb of system ram that was being used by the integrated chip.

However if you have a real power hungry game, the computer will use all of the memory on the video card, and possibly some system ram as well. Thats determined by the AGP apeture size in the BIOS. Most people have that set at about 64mb. So that means if the new video card has 128mb ram, then it will have 128mb+64mb available to it if necessary.

Patrick 2003
17-04-2004, 02:42 PM
thanks for the help, i understand it now. all i have to do is find a graphics card, i think a 64mb one is good engouh and its cheap too

PoWa
17-04-2004, 03:04 PM
What are you wanting to do with the video card?

Games? What games?

Patrick 2003
17-04-2004, 04:42 PM
yea i wanna play games, im thinking of games like call of duty, battlefeild 1942, Unreal 2, unreal tournment 2004. i thought GeForce MX440 is good for me cos im not paying 500-1000 bucks for a really big one like 128MB

Curious George
17-04-2004, 06:59 PM
You may find you will be disappointed with a GF4. If you can spring about $250, a nice Radeon 9600 xt would be great!
If you don't have that much money, a 9200 would be much better than a GF440, at about the same price.
And more ram. 512mb.

http://www.pricespy.co.nz/cat_16.html
It's all good.
*Remember to check APG compatibility BEFORE you buy*

Patrick 2003
17-04-2004, 07:44 PM
hey there thanks for all the replies, what do you mean by apg compatability? i know that i have a spare AGP slot

Curious George
17-04-2004, 10:40 PM
http://www.ertyu.org/~steven_nikkel/agpcompatibility.html
or
http://www.cpuplanet.com/features/article.php/30231_2117941_2
or
http://www.directron.com/15agpguide.html

Open'er up and have a look at what ya got.
have you found your motherbord makers web-site? Or what does the manual say about what it'll take agp wise?
If you have a local friendly computer shop, they should do it quickly and cheaply when you buy the card of them....

Ollie123
19-04-2004, 12:33 AM
> to do is find a graphics card, i think a 64mb one is
> good engouh and its cheap too

Yeah, it is a great card for running all of the games up until now.
As I've found out I need to upgrade from my 64Mb GeForce4 MX440 to atleast a 128Mb card to run Far Cry, in the process a finding the best card upgrade now.

So you won't last too long if you want to play this years games.
Still a great card though, lasted a long time for me.