PDA

View Full Version : dial up screen problem



ecurb
16-04-2004, 06:23 PM
For some reason whenever the computer starts up I now get the Dial up connection box appearing on the middle of the screen. If I click OK to dial up it refuses to connect. If I cancel there is another box underneath which says Runtime error 35761 request timed out.

Any ideas why the dial up connection box is appearing? It never used to and there are no programs in the startup menu

whiskeytangofoxtrot
16-04-2004, 06:44 PM
It's coming up because something is requesting internet access, it could be anything.

The error message searched in google gives a stack of results.

Try making sure your virus scanner is up to date, or going to Start --> Run --> msconfig and check out the Startup tab and untick anything you're suspicious of.

Also read the SpyWare FAQ - under FAQ's in the top menu.

Ferg
16-04-2004, 06:49 PM
I've dealt with a few of these recently for my mates, all related to Spyware. Download Ad-aware and Spybot, make sure you update them, they will hopefully cure the problem.