PDA

View Full Version : Problem with XP networking



videoguy
08-04-2004, 06:19 PM
Hi
I am having a problem with networking a XP home Laptop to a XP Pro box

I want to use the network to allow sharing of internet and computers

I go through the install starting with the xp pro box )section and end up with the following error

spooler subsystem app has encountered an error (tell or Don't tell Microsoft) clicks don't tell (incidentally I get the same error from both machines during the network setup )

soon the installation ends and on the Laptop a network bridge is installed and all seems to be ok I can see both computers on the network from each computer and remote dial up the internet from the laptop

However if i now turn both computers off and then reboot it all turns to custard and nothing works no bridge is there!

cant see other computers on the network
cant remote dial up the net

any help appreciated

PS have reinstalled os on Laptop (can't reinstall os on Xp pro box as some specific software is on the box and can not get it reinstalled vendor gone bung and needed software is for buisness use)

Noel Nosivad
08-04-2004, 06:32 PM
Hey videoguy,

Are you sharing a printer, or in general having printer problems? The error message is related to the printer, maybe a program is trying to print and it's not working or crashing.

I don't like the ICS that comes with Windows, I prefer alternative programs, and they usually work 90% of the time with no problems.

I would turn off any firewalls especially XP's, I even would force them to be turned off as sometimes disabling doesn't work.

I would make sure that the user for the desktop is the user for the laptop, or that the laptop user exists on the desktop and the desktop user exists on the laptop.

Make sure computer names are different and they both exist on the same workgroup.

I would then configure each network card, with static IP addresses.

I would then test them by pinging the localhost, network card and other computer on both computers.

I would then make sure that file and sharing is enabled and something is being shared.

I would then restart the computer, configure any firewall to allow this network connection, and then go over testing if it works again, making sure to check firewall logs incase the attempts are blocked.

I would then try MS's ICS setup or download one.


Noel Nosivad

videoguy
09-04-2004, 06:44 PM
> Hey videoguy,
>
> Are you sharing a printer, or in general having
> printer problems?

No

>
> I don't like the ICS that comes with Windows, I
> prefer alternative programs, and they usually work
> 90% of the time with no problems.
>
> I would turn off any firewalls especially XP's, I
> even would force them to be turned off as sometimes
> disabling doesn't work.
>
> I would make sure that the user for the desktop is
> the user for the laptop, or that the laptop user
> exists on the desktop and the desktop user exists on
> the laptop.

Yes done that already
>
> Make sure computer names are different and they both
> exist on the same workgroup.
Yes they are
>
> I would then configure each network card, with static
> IP addresses.
I don't think you can do this with microsoft NCS
>
> I would then test them by pinging the localhost,
> network card and other computer on both computers.

noping
>
> I would then make sure that file and sharing is
> enabled and something is being shared.

dont that
>
> I would then restart the computer, configure any
> firewall to allow this network connection, and then
> go over testing if it works again, making sure to
> check firewall logs incase the attempts are blocked.
>
no firewalls installed

> I would then try MS's ICS setup or download one.


I am using ms's
I would think that two XP computerers should work with MS ICS
but sadly they don't

>

Ludwig
09-04-2004, 09:01 PM
>
> I would then configure each network card, with static
> IP addresses.
I don't think you can do this with microsoft NCS
>

I have done that on my home network. All machines (Win2000 Pro with ICS enabled, Win98SE, and WinXP Home all have fixed / static IP address settings.

One things to check - that they are either on the same IP network (& have different IP addrs), or make one obtain a DHCP lease for it's IP config off the other. If both are trying to be the same (192.168.0.1?) then things won't exactly work ;-}

Open a DOS window and issue IPCONFIG /ALL on each computer to check what the state of each machines network is. That may help you find the problem. ... Or post the results back here & someone might pick up on the problem for you.

videoguy
10-04-2004, 08:40 PM
> >
> > I would then configure each network card, with
> static
> > IP addresses.
>.
>
> One things to check - that they are either on the
> same IP network (& have different IP addrs), or make
> one obtain a DHCP lease for it's IP config off the
> other. If both are trying to be the same
> (192.168.0.1?) then things won't exactly work ;-}


The box connected to the internet has a fixed IP address
The laptop has obtain an Ip address selected
>
> Open a DOS window and issue IPCONFIG /ALL on each
> computer to check what the state of each machines
> network is. That may help you find the problem. ...
> Or post the results back here & someone might pick up
> on the problem for you.


Ok I will do this next time I am down his way

Thanks