PDA

View Full Version : networking and firewalls



ravage13
03-04-2004, 04:09 AM
Hi
have successfully networked two computers both running win xp home using a cat5 cable however we have to disable our zone alarm firewalls to get access thru the network
What do I need to do to allow networking while still having the firewalls up?

Thanks

Ravage

zqwerty
03-04-2004, 04:35 AM
Bring up 'Program Manager' in ZoneAlarm, and allow the app's that apply.

Rob.

somebody
03-04-2004, 08:31 AM
Somewhere in Zonealarm it should let you set a "safe" zone (or home network zone, or something like that). If you put the IP address of your other networked computer into there, then it will bypass the firewall and have full access to the network. This way you can still browse the internet with the firewall on.

Jester
03-04-2004, 10:07 AM
I had no end of trouble with Zonealarm on my home network, it kept 'forgetting' the allowed IP and ranges. I changed to Sygate and it has been sweet ever since.

J
:D

tweak\'e
03-04-2004, 11:01 AM
zonealarm has plenty of instructions on how to allow home networks.

the other way of getting around it is to simply not use tcp/ip for home networking.