PDA

View Full Version : Old IBM 560z laptop



kiwi_in_Japan
01-04-2004, 12:30 AM
I have been asked to repair an old IBM thinkpad 560z. It needed a new harddrive and all I have is a cd rom to boot from. There is no internal or external floppy. Also the CD rom is external through USB.
My question is this.
How do I get the computer to boot directly from the CD Rom without going through the floppy drive?
I dont really want to have to go and buy a Floppy drive for it.

Murray P
01-04-2004, 12:47 AM
It'll only work if you can set the BIOS to boot from the CD Rom which it <should> be able to do if it's sans a floppy drive.

Cheers Murray P

kiwi_in_Japan
01-04-2004, 12:55 AM
> It'll only work if you can set the BIOS to boot from
> the CD Rom which it <should> be able to do if it's
> sans a floppy drive.

Thanks for the reply, however the Bios on this is very different from any PC that I have been into. eg. there is nowhere to change the settings.

Elephant
01-04-2004, 01:05 AM
>Thanks for the reply, however the Bios on this is very different from any >PC that I have been into. eg. there is nowhere to change the settings.

As a first step you could turn the Thinkpad upside down.

There should be a model number there. Post the actual model number as I believe I can help with that. Bear in mind that some models are not available in certain countries.

Most Thinkpads have the actual model number on the underside.

Murray P
01-04-2004, 01:06 AM
eerk! Ok, my knowledge of laptops is limited. Could be it needs it's original IBM CD to boot from. Try a dig around on IBM's website or do a Google on it.

Cheers Murray P

Murray P
01-04-2004, 01:18 AM
Or, you could ask Elephant ;)

Cheers Murray P

kiwi_in_Japan
01-04-2004, 02:32 AM
> There should be a model number there. Post the actual
> model number as I believe I can help with that. Bear
> in mind that some models are not available in certain
> countries.
>
> Most Thinkpads have the actual model number on the
> underside.

Ok.. The only numbers on the back are these:
TYPE 2640-BOU S/N 78-BTZ12 11/98
Thinkpad 560Z

Thanks. Any help would be appreciated.

Elephant
01-04-2004, 02:36 AM
Or you could ask Godfather even.

Probably will be better than my opinion.

This is not a sarcastic post. There are quite a few people here that KNOW.

IMHO Godfather is one of these people. I respect Godfather as I have never seen a nasty post and I have never seen a post that is out and out wrong to my definite knowledge.

I am the first person to admit that I don't know everything about computers.

I just try to help others when they run into a problem.

gerrypics
01-04-2004, 02:37 AM
I don't know if this will help or not.
With the 600E you hold down the F1 key while booting up.

Also try IBM 0800 505 501. They seem more than happy to help.

gerrypics
01-04-2004, 02:40 AM
Humble apologies for not taking note you are in japan, but they must have an 0800 or something like it there.

kiwi_in_Japan
01-04-2004, 02:43 AM
> I don't know if this will help or not.
> With the 600E you hold down the F1 key while booting
> up.

Holding down the F1 key at startup does get you into some sort of menu/ bios, but you cant do too many changes in there.
There is a CD for sale on EBAY which does exactly what i need it to do, however it isnt free and it has to be posted to you (only if you live in america too)
I appreciate everyones help so far.

whiskeytangofoxtrot
01-04-2004, 02:53 AM
Perhaps try these IBM links:

IBM Tech Docs for 560z (http://www-1.ibm.com/support/search.wss?&qse.cq&rs=0&q=thinkpad+560z)

IBM Downloads for 560z (http://www-306.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/DSHY-3RYRAK.html?qse.560z)

Elephant
01-04-2004, 03:11 AM
> I have been asked to repair an old IBM thinkpad 560z.
> It needed a new harddrive and all I have is a cd rom
> to boot from. There is no internal or external
> floppy. Also the CD rom is external through USB.
> My question is this.
> How do I get the computer to boot directly from the
> CD Rom without going through the floppy drive?
> I dont really want to have to go and buy a Floppy
> drive for it.

Next questions.

How do you know it needs a new hard drive?
What operating system was it running?
Will a floppy drive fit and if so in what bay?

I have read the model number you supplied and as you say it is a little older.

kiwi_in_Japan
01-04-2004, 03:31 AM
> Next questions.
>
> How do you know it needs a new hard drive?
> What operating system was it running?
> Will a floppy drive fit and if so in what bay?
>
> I have read the model number you supplied and as you
> say it is a little older.

The hard drive was occasionally starting, when it did start it had many bad sectors. And also the harddrive was making some pretty strange noises.
It was running win98 .
It has no slots for floppy or cd. Just PCMCIA slots and 1 usb

rmcb
01-04-2004, 10:57 AM
Smart Boot Manager can boot from a cd even if your bios won't let you.

http://btmgr.sourceforge.net/

Murray P
01-04-2004, 11:23 AM
That looks very useful rmcb. Have dowloaded for myself.

Elephant. I hope you did not misconstrue my previous post in this thread :8}. I was referring to the obviousness of the question raised in your reply which, I had missed and thought a compliment was due.

Cheers Murray P

Elephant
01-04-2004, 05:49 PM
No problems at all. We all miss the obvious at times.

I recently had someone tell me he needed a new sound card so I went to his place to check it out. After doing all the "obvious" thiings with no luck I then rotated the volume control on the speaker and we had sound. :-)

Maybe some things are too obvious!!