PDA

View Full Version : How do I play DVD's?



deejay_ajay
27-03-2004, 11:08 PM
Hey,
How do I play DVD's on my computer. I've got Windows XP home edition. What do I do?

stu140103
27-03-2004, 11:13 PM
Do you have a DVD rom?

deejay_ajay
27-03-2004, 11:17 PM
> Do you have a DVD rom?

How can I tell if its a DVD rom?

whiskeytangofoxtrot
27-03-2004, 11:27 PM
It'll say "DVD" on the front or have the DVD logo printed on it.

If you right click the drive in Window, Go Properties and Hardware it will also tell you (most of the time).

deejay_ajay
27-03-2004, 11:31 PM
K. I dont have one. how much do they cost?

whiskeytangofoxtrot
27-03-2004, 11:47 PM
Ok now you're getting a bit lazy.

Try looking at some online stores such as:

http://www.ascent.co.nz
http://www.quay.co.nz
http://www.dragonpc.co.nz
http://www.pp.co.nz

Elephant
28-03-2004, 12:22 AM
You might consider getting a DVD Reader/Writer while you are spending money. Possibly get a CDWriter with DVD read capability depending on what you have now.

For example:-
An LG 52x 32x 52x CD Writer & 16x DVD Reader is around $130 GST incl.
This will allow you to Write CDs and read DVDs but not write DVDs.

An ASUS 16x DVD ROM is around $89 GST incl. This will allow you to play a DVD but not write one.

DVD writers (dual format) go for anywhere between $202 - $355 depending on make, model and speed. With one of these you can write DVDs and read DVDs.

These prices were obtained using a retail outlet I buy stuff from and you may well find cheaper prices using pricespy. This is ONLY a guide.

I have no idea what you currently have in the way of hardware or operating system.

I am making a disclaimer before someone jumps in and says "I can do it cheaper or better or more warranty or don't buy LG or ASUS as they are rubbish or use an Intel chip rather than AMD or get this or get that."

With DVDs you might want to swot up a little on region codes as well.

OK.... According to your profile you live in the Wgton area.

Go and check out Quay Computers either in Lower Hutt or in Wellington.

They have been around a while and know what they are doing.

I hope this helps.

deejay_ajay
28-03-2004, 03:43 PM
Thanks Elephant, that helped alot. I currently have a cd writer but it isnt a dvd writer obviously. Theres no extra room on the cpu thing to install another one. would it do just the same if i replaced it with a dvd writer???

tommy
28-03-2004, 04:08 PM
> Theres no extra room on the cpu thing to install another one.
The CPU is the computer's processor, or "brain". If you have no extra room you would be referring to connections on the "motherboard".

>would it do just the same if i replaced it with a dvd writer???
Yes you can do that.
What other hardware does your computer have? Does it have a CD-ROM drive as well as a CD writer? How many hard drives does it have?

deejay_ajay
28-03-2004, 07:07 PM
> What other hardware does your computer have? Does it
> have a CD-ROM drive as well as a CD writer? How many
> hard drives does it have?

Yeah it has both thats wot i was tryin 2 say. and there r no more slots left

tweak\'e
28-03-2004, 07:24 PM
simply replace your cd rom drive with a dvd rom. you will also need DVD player software.