PDA

View Full Version : Access



Manuwai
23-03-2004, 11:01 PM
I have an Access database that I use for my GST. Recently I had to redo a form on which I input data. I have a command button on the form which take me to a new one for data entry. That works fine except my previous form put the cursor in the first field of the new form. My present one however does not have a blinking cursor and I have to get started by using the mouse to click in the first field. How can I make the new form open with the cursor in the right place so I can immediately start with data entry?

beama
23-03-2004, 11:36 PM
check the tab order in the properties of the input box in design veiw

beama
24-03-2004, 07:11 AM
bump
anyone else

Manuwai
24-03-2004, 07:39 AM
Yes I have done that a number of time and despite changing the TAB order there is still no blinking cursor.

Merlin
24-03-2004, 09:08 AM
use GoToControl in an On Open Macro



Men are four:
He who knows not and knows not he knows not, he is a fool -- shun him;
He who knows not and knows he knows not, he is simple -- teach him;
He who knows and knows not he knows, he is asleep -- wake him;
He who knows and knows he knows, he is wise -- follow him!
- Lady Burton (wife of Sir Richard Francis Burton), given as an Arabian proverb

andy
24-03-2004, 09:12 AM
You can simply press tab and this will take you to the first tab allocation or you can use the VBA command "SetFocus". This will set the cursor on the object you select ie: CmdOpenForm.SetFocus will set the cursor on the command button named CmdOpenForm. This can be done in the "On-Activate" property of the form.