PDA

View Full Version : Can I span across CDs ?

John W
16-03-2004, 03:35 PM
I have approx 3Gb of files to copy onto CD, is it possible to use Nero or similiar to achieve something like Winzip to span across CDs instead of counting the files individually to the 680Mb capacity of the disk. DVD copy is not an option.

Or any ideas how I can make this task easier.

Thanks.............. John

somebody
16-03-2004, 03:48 PM
Simple answer - yes - you can span across multiple CDs - just put 680mb of files onto one, the next 680 onto another and so on.

John W
16-03-2004, 04:42 PM
So I take it I cant group the 3Gb and get Nero to write to them by sitting back and feeding in the CDs...

somebody
16-03-2004, 04:59 PM
You might be able to - but I've never done it before. Someone else might be able to help you there.

agent_24
16-03-2004, 05:47 PM
okay, if you dont mind waiting a while, for 3 gigs to get processed, you can get winzip, or winrar to put all the selected files (the 3gb's you want copied) into an archive, but specify that you want it spanned into 680mb parts. then burn each part onto a CD. if you want it to go faster (no compression, which takes time), choose "no compression" (if using winzip) or "store" if using Winrar. i dont think nero can do that for you. the other option is just counting the files individually...

Mike
16-03-2004, 07:45 PM
I'm pretty sure that Winzip can't do it - spanning in Winzip I think requires it to go straight onto floppy disks.

Mike.

Chilling_Silence
16-03-2004, 07:52 PM
WinZip can do that.

Make the Zip with all the files in it, then Split it :-) There should be an option up the top with all the Icons, if not its in one of the Menu's down the bottom of the list IIRC.

You can specify what size you want each to be also, be it 1.38MB for a floppy, or 700MB for a CD-R.