PDA

View Full Version : Accessing scanner



Johnzz
10-03-2004, 08:58 AM
Help
I have Win98SE, 512RAM and lots of oomph.
I do not know exactly what I did but I cannot access my Benq scanner. I went to open MiraScan, useless. Thought it might have got corrupted so uninstalled it then tried to reinstall off my CD. Up pops two little boxes on top of each other. First titled:
Unhandled Exception (in blue at top) then
Error Number. 0x80070725
Description: Incompatible version of the RPC stub.

Setup will now terminate. OK
Second box is a repeat of the first
John

Jen C
10-03-2004, 10:41 AM
This InstallShield (http://support.installshield.com/kb/view.asp?articleid=Q105810) article may be of help.

Johnzz
10-03-2004, 11:01 AM
Thanks but when clicking on INSTALLSHIELD the IE window opens up but stays blank.
John

godfather
10-03-2004, 11:05 AM
The link opens for me, but here is the contents:

Cause
This error is caused by an incompatible version of a DLL that was installed on the system, such as Oleaut32.dll, Olepro32.dll, Asycfilt.dll, Stdole2.tlb. For example, version 3.50 of Oleaut32.dll is installed and used only by Windows XP and so causes this error if it is installed on a machine running any other operating system.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Resolution
Following are three possible resolutions for this error. Choose the appropriate method for your computer.

Microsoft Office 2000 or an Office 2000 Component IS Installed on Your Computer

If you have Microsoft Office or and Office 2000 component installed, install the Office 2000 Service Release 1. You can use this solution for any operating system.

Microsoft Office 2000 or an Office 2000 Component IS NOT Installed on Your Computer

If you do not have Office 2000 or an Office 2000 component installed on your computer, download and install the mcrepair.exe tool. When it prompts you to overwrite Newer files, make sure you click YES for each file. You can use this solution for any operating system.

You Are Using Windows 98 or 95

On Windows 98 and 95, this error may be caused by a bad version of oleaut32.dll. To correct this problem, follow these directions to remove the old file and reinstall it.

Warning: This resolution requires you to modify your System folder. Modifications to the Windows system, if not done correctly, can cause serious problems to your system.

Download to your Desktop, but do not run, the Distributed Component Object Model (DCOM) file appropriate for your system. For more information on DCOM see the Additional Information section.

Windows 98: dcom98.exe
Windows 95: dcom95.exe

Select Start > Shutdown

Select Restart in MS-DOS mode.

At the command prompt c:\WINDOWS, enter the following commands on separate lines as shown. Windows automatically restarts.
CD c:\windows\system
rename oleaut32.dll oleaut32.old
exit

Ignore the error message: "A required .DLL file, C:\windows\system\oleaut32.dll, was not found." This error message appears because the file was renamed in step 4.

Log in as you normally would.

Double-click the file you downloaded to your Desktop in step 1. Click Yes to the dialog that opens. The dcom.exe file installs a New oleaut32.dll file.

After DCOM has been installed, select Start > Restart.
If your computer fails to function properly after following the above instructions, you can restore your original oleaut32.dll file by doing the following:

Select Start > Shutdown.

Select Restart in MS-DOS mode.

At the command prompt c:\WINDOWS, enter the following commands on separate lines as shown. This restores the old oleaut32.dll file.
CD c:\windows\system
rename oleaut32.old oleaut32.dll
exit

Windows automatically restarts. If it does not, select Start > Restart.

Jen C
10-03-2004, 11:10 AM
Thanks godfather :)

Berniebee: just copy and paste this url into your IE address bar instead:

http://support.installshield.com/kb/view.asp?articleid=Q105810

NB* do all links in your IE open to blank pages?

Jen C
10-03-2004, 11:12 AM
Crikey, what lovely formatting :O

OK, when you copy that url, leave off the < /a> bit at the end - no idea how that go there.

Jen C
10-03-2004, 11:28 AM
Back again!

Johnzz: Sorry, just realised that I called you by the wrong name in my post :8}

Johnzz
10-03-2004, 05:10 PM
Hi again and thanks as I have moved along and cleared it up, NEARLY. When I boot up I get an Error message which says
Operation Interrompue!
80401
Le peripherique TWAIN
N'est pas connecte.

Is this the Rainbow Warrior all over again?

The scanner had nothing to do with it, it chose this moment to have a bad connection

John