PDA

View Full Version : Uploading jpegs



JohnD
06-03-2004, 10:31 PM
Can anyone tell me what might be going on when I upload a jpeg (tried several different ones) - when they arrive they are slighly smaller in size than the original and do not show on the web site!!

stu140103
06-03-2004, 10:38 PM
> Can anyone tell me what might be going on when I
> upload a jpeg (tried several different ones) - when
> they arrive they are slighly smaller in size than the
> original and do not show on the web site!!

Can you explain what you mean "and do not show on the web site" are you using images/filename.jpg ?? Have you upload them to the correct folder?

Also can you explain what you mean by
"when I upload a jpeg (tried several different ones) - when they arrive they are slighly smaller in size than the original"
???

godfather
06-03-2004, 10:43 PM
What website?
Some providers auto-manipulate the images on free hosted pages to keep space down.

JohnD
06-03-2004, 11:12 PM
The tag is correct - all works locally with the image in a "images" folder using RH9 as my OS. When the file is uploaded using gFTP I can see the 2 panes - the original file is 5535 bytes and the uploaded one is 5513 bytes. If I place a border on the graphic, the border shows up but no graphic.

There is no broken link shown on the web site - the graphic just does not show.

JohnD
06-03-2004, 11:13 PM
It's homepages at Paradise.

JohnD
06-03-2004, 11:25 PM
Have fixed - I was uploading with the extension .jpeg - changed to .jpg and all is well.