PDA

View Full Version : How do you switch on a Compaq Presario Lap-top?



Mzee
04-03-2004, 02:31 PM
I feel like an idiot but a friend has left his Laptop with me to install some hardware. He is not available to ask.
I can't find out how you switch the power on.
I have prodded everything but no response.
(on the movies they switch on when you raise the screen)
Either I havn't found the switch, or the battery is completely flat.

Does anyone know how to switch it on? :)

rugila
04-03-2004, 02:45 PM
Power switch on top left corner of keyboard.

If battery flat use mains input.

beama
04-03-2004, 02:46 PM
look for a silver button top left just below the screen at least that is where my on off switch is on my compaq Presario laptop

godfather
04-03-2004, 03:00 PM
And never install software off the battery.

A shutdown 1/2 way through an install due to failing battery power is not a recommended event. Often requires a complete reinstall of the OS to clean up.

Mzee
05-03-2004, 03:16 PM
Thanks all :)

The battery was completely flat. Charged up Ok and works fine except that it is short on memory.