PDA

View Full Version : linux fedora file access on usb



kiwirik20015
01-03-2004, 11:20 PM
Hi all,

I am a total newby and have had Fedora running for over 3 months and love it. One thing I haven't figured out is how to access my digital camera (panasonic dmc-lc20 or phillips usb mp3 player key 005)

I read several posts on usb topics that talked about adding to a file called fstab which I have done and I can see a change in the directory /proc/usb when I plug and unplug the camera BUT cant figure out how to access the files as I would under windows. My other option is to put windows back on just for this which seems a little bit ridiculous.

I hope someone can help me or point me in the right direction. Thanks in advance for any help anyone can give.

Richard

mikebartnz
01-03-2004, 11:33 PM
I will switch to linux and show you how mine works(fstab).

Chilling_Silently
01-03-2004, 11:49 PM
Try the following:
Open a terminal (konsole or gnome-terminal) and type the following:
su -
[enter root password]

Now, we're going to make a dir where you're going to mount your Camera first off, so you can at least get your Pics off it. You can look at gphoto later...
mkdir /camera

Next, plug in your Camera and do whatever you might need to so you can get the photo's transferred off it. Moost you just plug in, some you have to put into View mode...
Then type:
mount /dev/sda1 /camera

The camera should now be mounted at /camera

Next, you'll want to:
cd /camera
and run:
ls

This will list the folders. Change into whatever directory the Pics are in.
Then, cp or mv the files to your users home folder. You may need to run:
chmod -R 777 /home/username/Folder_you_put_the_pics_in
then,:
cd /
umount /camera

You need to cd /, or at least change out of /camera, otherwise you cant umount it so you can safely unplug it.

Then, do the same with your USB Key drive :-)

Hope this helps


Chill.

mikebartnz
02-03-2004, 12:08 AM
I like the fstab file because it makes it permanent and here is mine to access my camera.
LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
LABEL=/boot /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
none /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
LABEL=/home /home ext3 defaults 1 2
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
LABEL=/usr /usr ext3 defaults 1 2
/dev/hda10 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom udf,iso9660 noauto,owner,kudzu,ro 0 0
/dev/hdd /mnt/ls120.0 auto noauto,owner,kudzu 0 0
/dev/hda6 /mnt/2000Data vfat defaults 0 0
/dev/hda7 /mnt/Pictures vfat defaults 0 0
/dev/sda1 /mnt/Camera auto noauto,owner 0 0
device sda1 did it for me. You still need to make the mount point Camera or like.

kiwirik20015
05-03-2004, 07:38 PM
Thanks for the helpl guys but I am no better off. This is what I have got


root@rick root]# cd camera
[root@rick camera]# mount /dev/sda1 /camera
mount: /dev/sda1 is not a valid block device
[root@rick camera]# ls
[root@rick camera]# cd ..
[root@rick root]# mount /dev/sda1 /camera
mount: /dev/sda1 is not a valid block device
[root@rick root]# mount /dev/sda1/camera
mount: can't find /dev/sda1/camera in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab
[root@rick root]# mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/camera
mount: mount point /mnt/camera does not exist
[root@rick root]#

Can anybody help?

Chilling_Silently
06-03-2004, 09:24 AM
> Thanks for the helpl guys but I am no better off.
> This is what I have got
>
>
> root@rick root]# cd camera
Hang on, you're in your /root folder here...?

> [root@rick camera]# mount /dev/sda1 /camera
And then you try and mout the folder to /camera?

> mount: /dev/sda1 is not a valid block device
Its not picked up the Camera

> [root@rick camera]# ls
> [root@rick camera]# cd ..
> [root@rick root]# mount /dev/sda1 /camera
Okay, so you ls the directory and its empty (understandably so). Then you cd .. into /root
Then you try to mount the camera to /camera, but its not liking that, for two reasons (Im speculating the 2nd)

You may have made /root/camera but not /camera, so check that

Your camera isnt being recognised as a USB Drive.
Ive found your camera here:
http://www.teaser.fr/~hfiguiere/linux/digicam.html

It says it should be picked up just like Mine and Mikes.

One thing:
Have you turned the Camera on? That was the reason why I spent an hour googl'ing around trying to get my Fathers Kodak FinePix to work in Linux... Turn it on and all my problems went away :p

Then:
mkdir /camera (Note: '/camera', and not 'camera' because otherwise it'll make it in your current folder, which was /root by the looks of it)
Next, turn the camera on and plug it in
mount /dev/sda1 /camera
cd /camera && ls

If the Camera doesnt work, try with the USB Thumb drive.
You _wont_ need to 'mkdir /camera' every time, Im just making sure you have /camera and not /root/camera

Cheers


Chill.

JohnD
06-03-2004, 06:47 PM
I find it better to use generic names if you are using two or more USB devices - otherwise the first one connected will take the first name so you might have the camera looking like it is the pendrive. The end of my fstab looks like:

/dev/sda4 /mnt/zip vfat noauto,owner,rw 0 0
/dev/sdb1 /mnt/USB1 auto noauto,owner 0 0
/dev/sdc1 /mnt/USB2 auto noauto,owner 0 0

kiwirik20015
06-03-2004, 10:52 PM
Thank you so much!!!!!

It has worked and I have saved my pictures to my harddrive.

I am going to archive your post for posterity and future reference.


Regards

Richard

Chilling_Silently
06-03-2004, 10:59 PM
That's great to hear Richard.

Can I enquire into the steps you did to get it to work?


Chill.

kiwirik20015
08-03-2004, 08:23 AM
I just did what you suggested and it worked. Now I am trying to get the pendrive to load and having a bit of fun with that!!

JohnD
08-03-2004, 11:33 AM
Do you have two different entries in your fstab? e.g. /dev/sda1 and /dev/sdb1.

I have found that if you mount (say) a USB pen drive as /dev/sda1 into /mnt/USB1 then remove it (with umount) you need to mount (say) the camera into /dev/sdb1.

It still seems tho think that the last device is still there even though it has been umounted.

Graham L
08-03-2004, 02:21 PM
When you are doing things like this, always use tail -20 /var/log/messages to see what the system is saying to itself as you plug USB devices in and out. You will need to be root for this command (you can have a terminal open just for this and use su - ).