PDA

View Full Version : Networking: Can't see my own computer let alone can see the other?

sandy beach
27-02-2004, 04:25 PM
Hi people,

I'm a bit stuck at the moment.....

I have 2 computers. Both were using Windows 2000 (at the time). I have been using Windows 2000 for both machines for 8 months without a hitch. So, in saying this, I did not have a problem seeing the next computer, or even my own or even sharing files to the next PC and so on....

Yesterday, I reinstalled Windows on one of my machines. This time round I installed Windows XP Pro, while the other in my room still; has Windows 2000. (I intend to keep it that way)

After installing Windows XP, I had no problems seeing Windows 2000 and vice versa. No problem sharing files etc...

Just today, I couldn't understand why I no longer can see the computer that has Windows 2000. There is no communication problems between the two machines, as I can ping with successfull replies on both systems.

Its just at the moment now, I can only see Windows XP on the XP machine, and again; Windows XP on the Windows 2000 computer. For some odd reason, I cannot see Windows 2000 on either on the Windows XP or on its own?

Can someone explain this mystery?

One thing also, not forgetting, I noticed, that when I switch the Win2k machine on, it ends up switching the Windows XP machine in the other room. Is this any what so ever relavant to why I cannot see Win2k on both machines?

I've never seen this before, as to why I had to ask some one?

Thanks

rugila
27-02-2004, 04:52 PM
Check to see if the workgroups are the same for each machine
also
Check to see if the IP's match up for each machine.

But if you can ping OK probably it's the workgroups.

somebody
27-02-2004, 05:14 PM
Sandy Beach says that both machines can see the XP computer, so workgroups shouldn't be a problem.