PDA

View Full Version : Who's tried WinXP SP2?

Chilling_Silently
27-02-2004, 12:26 PM
I just thought I'd start a thread on this lil topic.

Ive just downloaded WinXP SP2 build 2082 (Beta) and find it quite nice so far...

The Security Center is a major improvement!
The firewall seems a lot more in-depth, and the Popup stopper in IE is LONG overdue (So a welcome addition - Ive been using Firefox for 18 months and its done just this!).

Installation went without a hitch.

Anybody else have any experiences on the Update they want to share? Im keen to hear....

Chill.

stu140103
27-02-2004, 01:07 PM
For those people who have not heard much about this up & coming release of WinXP SP2 here is the news about it

XP SP2 to increase security (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/thread.jsp?forum=1&thread=41638)

News: XP SP2 beta and other news... (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/thread.jsp?forum=1&thread=42429)

IE Overhaul Part of Windows XP SP2 (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/thread.jsp?forum=1&thread=42614)

b1naryb0y
27-02-2004, 01:29 PM
I've had mixed reactions on two seperate machines with different hardware.

System 1, installed without a hitch, apart from obvious improvements, system appears snappier.

System 2, installed without any problems, but post install reboot took close to a minute and once up and running there apears to be a general slow down on this machine. This was not evident before installing SP2.

forrest44
27-02-2004, 04:38 PM
Well now everyone probably has there systems redeayed for NGSCB after installing SP2.

Correct me if I'm wrong :-)

Forrest.

PoWa
27-02-2004, 04:54 PM
I heard that when you install SP2 on the new Athlon FX processors it enables TCPA functions on them

R2x1
28-02-2004, 02:45 PM
Never mind SP1 or 2; How long before XP gets fixed enough to go to Beta?

stu140103
28-02-2004, 02:56 PM
> Never mind SP1 or 2; How long before XP gets fixed
> enough to go to Beta?

?:| ?:|