PDA

View Full Version : DVD-RW

AZREAL
25-02-2004, 03:18 PM
I heard quite awhile back that you shouldn't do much of anything on you CD-RW drive other than burning CDs because you will wear out its CD burning ability....... Is this fact true and does it also go for DVD-RW drives as well?
See this is the thing.... I have a DVD-Rom drive that does not recognise DVDs when I try and play one. I have to put a DVD in and reboot for it to recognise and play. It's a BTC BDV 108A and I would really like to set it to recognise DVDs.... Also How can I flash this drive properly to make it region free? I've been using this drive for a few years now and it used to recognise DVDs as I put them in but now (and since last year) it hasn't recognised any DVDs (until after I reboot).
I got a DVD-RW and it recognises DVDs perfectly but I'm worried I might wear out it's burning properties.

I've posted for help on this forum before concerning this problem (of my BTC DVD-ROM) but nothing seems to work.... I'm fed up on rebooting everytime I want to watch a DVD.
Any Suggestions?
Thanks in Advanced

Sb0h
25-02-2004, 03:32 PM
Have you tried running a cleaning disc in it? It is possible the lens is covered in dust and that can cause the drive not to read properly. AFAIK it is true that the laser diodes in CD and DVD drives do lose output strength over time and the drive/drawer motors do wear out. This is not restricted to just CD and DVD writers but affects CD and DVD ROM's as well. That is why you are better off using a cheaper DVD or CD-ROM for most of your usage and saving your writer for writing only. That way when it wears out it is cheaper to replace.

AZREAL
25-02-2004, 03:55 PM
Thanks for putting that myth into fact for me....