PDA

View Full Version : Off Topic: Any PFiers been flooded? Or are we all cityfolks?

Laura
19-02-2004, 02:41 AM
Okay, it was a sensational heading - but I used to be a Journalist....

And during that time, I "did " fires, floods & landslips - over many years.

None of those past experiences helped each time I went back to a house with its owner to see the devastation. Heart-breaking every time....

That's because I found certain things are so totally personal to us - in terms of what we miss the most - that there are no rules.

(Some philosphically wear the loss of a house, provided they have the photo albums.....or the cat/dog.)

So I sympathise with those who lost not only their treasures but also their livelihoods - like the dairy farmers with dead cows or those they can't find -or having milked, have to pour it away.

As Press F1 covers a wide spectrum of this country, I assume some of our members are currently suffering from this -even if the city dwellers can sit tight?

Let us know, if so.

Laura
19-02-2004, 02:47 AM
Suddenly realised - this was supposed to be named Off Topic.

Don't know how to change it new (No editing facility afterwards, alas)

beetle
19-02-2004, 07:14 AM
Hi Laura,

well we are city dwellers, who got off relatively lightly, we never lost power, but we did have a damaged roof which in the weekend saw hubby up in the bad weather on the 2nd story roof fixing it, with borrowed ladder from a friend. and some broken trees on our property.

we have very close friends in fielding who we have not managed to contact so are worried about that,
my parents lost their power for nearly 2 days, here in Wanganui, and we have been inundated by stranded people staying here at Motel, while Motels round the corner have no power or tv reception on Monday.