PDA

View Full Version : TV tuner



sparq
13-02-2004, 10:04 PM
I have a Dynalink TView card and can't get it configured in linux. It doesn't find any channels when it scans. I am using fedora, but also have a cd of knoppix, which works with the tvcard. What is happening?

Thanks,
Simon

Chilling_Silently
13-02-2004, 10:22 PM
A few things here:
Are you certain fedora has picked it up?
As root, run:
lsmod
it'll tell you what modules (drivers in a nutshell) are loaded. Post that list here.

Also, try tvtime, it works great on most cards I know of. You can run tvtime-scanner, and it'll scan for channels. I gave it til about 180 then hit Ctrl + C
Then, fire up tvtime (Mine only likes being run as root for some reason) and tell it to only list Active Channels, or something to that effect. It'll then only display channels that have reception :-)

Hope this helps


Chill.

sparq
14-02-2004, 08:40 AM
Here is the list of modules:

ppp_deflate
ppp_async
ppp_generic
slhc
via82cxxx_audio
ac97_codec
uart401
sound
soundcore
parport_pc
lp
parport
autofs
8139too
mii
ipt_REJECT
ipt_state
ip_conntrack
iptable_filter
ip_tables
floppy
sg
sr_mod
microcode
ide-scsi
scsi_mod
ide-cd
cdrom
keybdev
hid
usb-uhci
usbcore
mousedev
input
nvidia
ext3
jbd


I do use tvtime, and I can't tune to anything with that either. The hardware browse thingy says it finds a capture device "Bt878 Video Capture"

Chilling_Silently
14-02-2004, 08:53 AM
I'll whip up a quick html web-page in about 5 minutes with my two .xml files that you can throw in ~/.tvtime/ if you like.

Try this as root first:
modprobe bttv


Chill.

sparq
14-02-2004, 01:26 PM
No, modprobe bttv didn't work. Could you do whatever you said with those xml files?

Sparq

Chilling_Silently
14-02-2004, 01:51 PM
I would, but it looks like you dont even have the driver.

Go to:
http://bytesex.org/bttv/

Follow those instructions to install the driver.

Either that, or get yourself a 2.6 kernel which includes the drivers (My perfered option).

Then we'll get you those xml files if tvtime still wont work :-)

Cheers


Chill.

sparq
14-02-2004, 05:28 PM
modprobe bttv did work, what I meant was that it still doesn't tune

sparq

Chilling_Silently
14-02-2004, 08:01 PM
Oh...

In that case, I'll put my .xml files up here:
http://chillingsilence.no-ip.com/tvtime.html

Give me 3 mins to move the files across to my other PC etc.

TVTime only seems to work for me as root, so try puting them in /root/.tvtime also :-)


Chill.