PDA

View Full Version : External modem isn't working right



Codex
10-02-2004, 05:34 PM
I've just got a new pc which runs Windows 2000 Proffessional but the pc doesn't have a modem, so i plugged in the external modem from my old pc, alll the drivers were installed correctly but when i tried to connect to the internet an error(692) came up saying my modem isn't on and other things, my modem is a Dynalink V1456VCE

mikebartnz
10-02-2004, 05:44 PM
I have the same modem & w2k. If the modem isn't turned on when you boot the PC it will give this error. If the modem is not on W2k does not load the drivers for it hence the error.

Graham L
10-02-2004, 05:47 PM
Wouild a "refresh" in Hardware Manager save a reboot when (not if ;-)) you forget?

mikebartnz
10-02-2004, 05:54 PM
No tried that as MS recommended but it made no dif but if you meant that instead of having to reboot it is realy no faster.
Linux has no such problem.

zqwerty
10-02-2004, 06:48 PM
Actually a refresh in hardware manager always makes mine go when I have forgotten to switch the modem on, which happens often and it is my standard fix rather than rebooting because Win2k is quite slow to start and stop.

CU Rob.

mikebartnz
10-02-2004, 07:54 PM
Mine is very fast stopping but a little slow starting but I have still found it just as quick to reboot. Luckily it doesn't happen often now.