PDA

View Full Version : ISP's and connection speeds

drcspy
08-02-2004, 05:26 PM
I'm getting VERY grumpy with xtra... recently they seem to have downgraded their 'service' so that I often have trouble connecting at more than 40Kbs .....GRRR......anyway I rang them waited about 15 mins on the phone (wow fast for once lol) and the lady tried to tell me that 40 was a 'REALLY GOOD SPEED'.....

Even after I said "I'm a tech and i work on a lot of computers and that is not right 40 is a poor speed' she tried to tell me twice more that 40 was a 'really good speed'........grrrrrr at this point I said 'you are talkign crap' and hung up.......

well I KNOW without a doubt that if I dialled up on my father'n'laws clear account right now I'd bet I'll get 50 or over...

so as you may imagine I am thinking very seriously of dumpin xtra cause I think they're downgrading their dial up so that folks will want to sign up for their rippoff jetstream ........anyway... what I'd like you nice folks to tell me is
1 What ISP do you use
2 What general speed do you get
3 How reliable are they ?

Jamesioitron
08-02-2004, 05:31 PM
ooh i use

* clearnet
*48 kb/s
*You get on all the time, except for when you need it most.
e.g 3oc in the morning.
e.g when you need to send important work info.

e.g when you cus at the clearnet tec's and they suspend you for a day. lol just kidding.

Megaman
08-02-2004, 05:32 PM
i use clear net flat rate
$24 a month
usually 50.6-52kbits per second, however downloads are abnormally fast, usually 60kibts per second
however they do have a fair bit of down time, and someimes it connects @ 33.6kbits per second, however this is easilly fixed by connecting again

Jamesioitron
08-02-2004, 05:32 PM
+ they rely on an australia line thingy so they cant fix things that imediately come up in Nz. they have to ring or something.

words cannot describe the foulness of what i want to say to the clearnet clerks.

tweak\'e
08-02-2004, 05:38 PM